Rolling... Rolling....


Advertisement
Slovakia's flag
Europe » Slovakia » Bratislava Region » Bratislava
May 12th 2006
Published: May 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

4 days since my left entry in Ceskie Krumlov... time just floats by in that place. So much quietness and tranquility... it got boring pretty quickly though. Apart from the nights which where filled with Absynth fun with a few Canadian girls and another crazy evening with some Chinese 30yr old ladies during the day there wasn't much to do apart from hike, explore the town castle for the 50th time or mix with the locals (bums begging everytime you cross a bridge). So on forwards I went planning to follow the Canadian girls to Budapest. A better option though was to getta train to Bratislava for a few days then carry onwards to Budapest. Not only does it work out cheaper BUUUT I get to city another city, another country.

Bratislava for those who do not know is the capital of Slovakia. The place has been through its turmoil recently and the whole economy got turned onto its head. To be honest I wasn't to sure what to expect when I arrived.

I woke at 6am to the sound of my burnt out mobile alarm blaring away waking only me thank god. No shower this morning folks, on with the boots and by 6.15am I was treading dirt through the empty town of Ceskie Krumlov saying goodbye to quietness and proposed 'Stree-Free Living'. It was actually a really nice morning, the sun was out and not a sole in sight, just awesome buildings and the castle creating perfect Kodak moments.

After an hour bus drive to the train station I hopped on and took a train 4 hours to the sub capitol city of Czech, Brno. I had a 3 hour wait here so I decided I'd grab the internet for 30 minutes then check out the city. The place really is just like Prague minus the tourists and minus the ques. Trams where going wild and crazy Czechs begging with cute dogs sleeping next to them. Apart from that no sights where to be seen apart from the 'McDonalds This Way ---->' every 200m.

By 3.30pm I was back on a train heading to Slovakia. I was thinking in my head that the city will be plagued with haunting looking buildings and graffiti painted walls with thugs waiting at the train station to steal all my credit cards. It was actually quite the opposite. The countryside going through was really nice... tons of trees reflecting of vast lakes and with the sun shining down srong, it probably helped out the whole scene a wee bit more.

When I got to the city there was no graffiti or crazy men trying to steal my credit cards. Actually a spooky dood offered me a cheap stay at his hostel which was only accesbile via 'Private Transport'. I kindly offered him my famous dish... a knuckle sandwhich.

By the time I got to my proper hostel the sun was setting and after reccomendation from another Aussie staying in my room, I went down to Tescos and spent the evening late night shopping for bargains. A loaf of fresh bread, 2x Noodles, 1L Fruit Juice, Chocolate Bar = 1 pound 20 pence. This place is pretty cheap eh? Next blog I'll let you know the beer price.

All looks good, I head to Budapest on Sunday!

Advertisement



12th May 2006

ALT
at knuckle sandwhich
15th May 2006

"I kindly offered him my famous dish... a knuckle sandwhich." Ahahahahaah you're soooooooooooo gay Jon, keep up the blogs, they keep me incredibly entertained when I should be doing uni stuff :).

Tot: 0.19s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb