Serbia - The other side


Advertisement
Europe » Serbia » West » Belgrade
March 20th 2007
Published: March 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We didn't plan on heading to Serbia, we were going to Pogoricia (Montenegro’s capital) as it was quite close to Sarajevo. On finding out that it’s an 8 hour bus ride and the same time train ride to Belgrade we chose to continue our trip via train with Emma as she couldn’t do without the continuous New Zealand accent teasing. :>

What to say about Belgrade. Well I’m sorry to say, not much. The place was polluted, it smelt and I just really didn’t get much out of it.

We grabbed a decent enough hostel and headed out to see the sights. Another walled city that wasn’t quite as complete as all the others we had come cross on our travels, nowhere really spoke much English so we pointed to certain items on menus for food. We were going to try the “Very Soft strip of Meat” but everyone backed out. We are still not quite sure what it was. (see pic)

Well I can now say I reached one of my life goals in Serbia, I am now a multi billionaire, actually between Cam and I we are Trillionaires.

In 1993 Serbia had massive inflation that they had to produce 500 000 000 000 (500 billion) dinar bank notes. See my pic to show my awesome wealth.

On wandering around Belgrade we find that much of the city has been bombarded. And not like Sarajevo. NATO has destroyed many government buildings during the past decade of trouble, including Bosnia and most recently Kosovo. You could see where cruise missiles had struck, there were massive holes and I’m not quite sure how the buildings are still standing.

Kosovo is still trying to claim independence but from reading the local papers (yes some were in English) it doesn’t look as they are going to give it up without a fight. So unfortunately I think the hostilities in this region are not quite over.

I hope I’m wrong but only time will tell.

Thanks for all the comments. Keep em coming. It’s great to hear from people back in Aus.

Next blog from Montenegro



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

The biggest church I've ever seenThe biggest church I've ever seen
The biggest church I've ever seen

It's still being built. It was started in 1935 but was put on hold due to Hitler invading and then Communisum taking hold till 1985.
We Found Club 54We Found Club 54
We Found Club 54

Nearly Studio 54


1st April 2007

Your blogging is excellent. keep safe.
1st April 2007

Time to get back to work!
Hi Roh, We just had our Sunday lunch at the terrigal beach. You know the usual sushi, cheese plater and few glasses of champaign... our new life on the coast. Pretty good! still not as exciting as your life at the moment. Anyway, thinking of you and Cam. Take care and one of these days you will eventually get back to work! Love, Mai Hi from Alissa, nice pictures and thanks for the history lessons! Take care and have more fun.... Allisa. Hi mate, Daz here. Finally online (ADSL that is) at Wyoming. 3 weeks of crap excuses from Telstra, but now we're wired. The 3 of us have been remenising about our trip and checking out our pics... Dam it was a great holiday. Just been reading through ya blogs. Sounds like your have'n and awesome holiday.I've been really slack and that's the 1st time I've had a chance to catch up on ya travels. Well can't wait to catch up one of these days. Say hi to Cam. Daz
1st April 2007

Tigers update
Hey Roh, I'm sure you would like an update on your beloved Tigers - sorry to say they are none from 3. You can probably get this info from the NRL website but there's nothing like gettin shit stirred from a friend about your footy team. So if you're missing the Baird bunch - don't - the Tigers stil suck man and it was just good luck that they won a premiership so you can stop wearing the shirt now - donate it to the poor (or the blind!) Great to see the blogs - my students are loving the updates (they don't read them....stop panicking....they just hear about it from me. Keep 'em comin. Happy Birthday for the 8th - be sure to celebrate it with a beer or 6 - I'll be thinkin of you...... Luv Megz
2nd April 2007

Back at work for me
Hey mate, great to see your still blogging i get sick of it about three days into any trip i go on, anyway have started my new job last week im working in gordon, trying to find a house somewhere around north sydney THERE IS DEFINATELY A RENTAL CRISIS HERE, 45 people turned out to see a 1 bedroom unit in st leonards last saturday for the bargin price of 420 a week, its scarey, reading some other comments yes the tigers are none from three but cam will be happy to know COWBOYS are 3 from 3 and get this, Souths 3 from 3, Russell Crowe is finally have a good year in sport. keep up the blogs mate i know i read them all I'm sure everyone else reads them too they probably just don't comment, make sure you don't fall for any hot women in eastern europe (hostel) if you know what im mean, keep safe later mate say Hi to Cam and Tracey for me when you see them :)

Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0623s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb