Nis


Advertisement
Europe » Serbia » South » Nis
October 25th 2007
Published: November 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

We finally extricated ourselves from Sarajevo ... yay! Last night I had the worst sleep ever. I couldn’t swallow because my glands were so swollen, I had heartburn, and I couldn’t stop coughing. I knew I was keeping Mike away and tried to do anything I could to stop: I ended up sitting upright, propped up with a pillow against the wall, sucking on a candy cane hoping the mint would soothe my throat. I must’ve been quite a sight!

We woke up at 6:45 this morning (brutal) and caught a bus to Nis, and then planned to go to Sofia from there. It ended up being a bus ride from Hell that never ended: 7 hours passed, then 8 hours, 9, 10 ... 11 HOURS LATER we arrived in Nis, and we weren’t too happy about it. We decided that catching a midnight bus to Macedonia wasn’t an option, and catching a 4:30am but to Sofia was just silly, so we had to spend the night in Nis. We got a pretty nice room by the bus station, then headed into “town”. There is some sort of castle here, plus a very fast-flowing river, and a fair or something happening on the main street, but to be honest, we didn’t know a thing about the city. We ate at McDonald’s (or, I ate there; Mike is anti-McD’s and actually had to go into the bathroom and give himself a talking-to in the mirror, Vincent Vega-style, because he was tempted). We then went to a pub for a few beers (I had a Lav Pivo and Mike had a Jelen Pivo: they mean Lion and Deer), bought some apple pie on the way home, now watching “One Tree Hill” in bed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.311s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb