Bosnia--Sarajevo


Advertisement
Bosnia and Herzegovina's flag
Europe » Bosnia & Herzegovina » East » Sarajevo
October 23rd 2007
Published: November 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


A Sarajevo snowfall... imagine that!



I never thought I'd live to see this! We're definitely leaving Sarajevo tomorrow morning, so I enjoyed this final day thoroughly. Mike is happy to spend the rest of his two-week holiday here because he loves it so much, and so do I. I'm happy I met him; I wouldn't want to be here without someone to enjoy it with. And I miss Sasa a little less everyday, which is good. I LOVE THIS BEAUTIFUL WORLD!!

This morning, I woke to a serious blizzard. A foot of snow on the ground, and here I was with only sandals and thin little shoes that are too small and are hurting my feet already. The pain, plus the snow, made wearing them all day an impossibility, so I was determined to find new footwear. I miraculously found a pair of pink boots (they're 2 different colours, but I didn't care), with a furry lining. For only 9KM (5 euros) ... I don't think I've ever been happier with a purchase in my life! They're the ugliest things I've ever owned and I love them dearly.

I found out there was a mass on tonight, so I went to Cafe Alfonso to have a gorgeous cafe latter, still dripping, from the snow. After a good hour, I met Mike, and found out we'd swapped foot problems ... his shoes are now totally inappropriate for the snow. We walked around a bit, stopped for lunch at The Steak House (surrounded by funny old South African ladies on tour) and sat for a long time, enjoying our food and coffee. Then we returned to Cafe Alfonso and drank green tea while watching Fashion Television and being comfortable in our seats. Mike went home after an hour or so, and I went to mass at the Cathedral next door. It wasn't as spectacular as the one in Osijek, but I enjoyed it nonetheless.

I then went to a restaurant called To Be Or Not To Be (the Not To Be was crossed out during the siege to make it seem more positive, and they kept it that way). There was great jazz playing and cool posters on the walls and I enjoyed my Sarajevsko Pivo until Mike arrived and we left to find a movie theatre on the other side of the river. We found one theatre but it was only playing one movie, in Bosnian, so we bought some delicious stuff from the bakery and walked over to Hacienda. We sat upstairs and there was great disco playing, and we had a beer and a glass of wine and had a great chat. I'm happy to have found, in both him and Patrick, people I get along with extraordinarily well. We left there at around 1:30 and came straight back to the hostel...

...and we've decided to spend ONE MORE DAY here!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.429s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.083s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb