Tights and Tutus


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia
July 21st 2008
Published: July 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Despite it being close to midnight and another early start tomorrow, we can’t possibly go to sleep. Firstly its still light out (white nights), and we have to tell you about our fantastic night at the ballet.

Swan Lake. As we entered the exquisite theatre, I heard myself mutter those infamous words “Tell Billy his family are here” !! (Billy Elliott). First off we had amazing seats, front row, well for five minutes before we got ousted. Anyway, our actual seats were better with a great view of the stage. Although the St Petersburg dance company were away on tour, we saw a touring company but they were accompanied by the state symphonic orchestra of St Petersburg. The show was mesmerising, and that’s not just because the men were in tights!!! It was superb, and I repeatedly got a lump in my throat as I realised I am here, in Russia, watching the ballet which was the thing I most wanted to do….fantastic. Cameras were not allowed during the performance, and the camera police kept scurrying round the theatre chastising those that inadvertedly took pics. However, you were allowed to snap at the curtain calls and I also sneaked a few in at the end of particular dances.

The sunset tonight was amazing too and the dusky twilight makes even the cargo port look enchanting!




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.269s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0834s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb