My 2010 journey: Russia, St. Petersburg


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Saint Petersburg
February 13th 2011
Published: February 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

My Russian trip began with a series of frustration of language barrier.

After a long air trip, including the long passage of waiting in New York airport and flustered transferring in Moscow airport (The domestic terminal is ridiculously far from international terminal and the shuttle bus schedule is completely a joke.), I arrived YH with an exhausted body. Besides, everything I saw was Russian, which caused huge hardness in everything. However, fortunately, the staffs of YH were extremely friendly.

During the days I stayed, the sky was cloudy, sometimes it rained. I didn’t sweep all famous spots, I just wandered in the old city, on the streets surrounded by ancient buildings. I walked across some arch bridges above canals, stood still in the square center, then sat and nodded on stair aside the square. I visited some gorgeous Orthodox churches, took some pictures as a ordinary tourist, as last, I took subway back to hostel, with dampened jacket, maybe also with a sandwich, bought from the kiosk outside the metro station. I used funny gestures for this mission, but still didn’t make the vendors laugh.

I had no idea I was walking inside a world heritage, until I was back to Taiwan, surfed the website.

I am fond of this kind of tour, just be here to feel, not to learn.









----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I had a 3 months journey from Aug.30 to Dec.01 in 2010. Here is my route:
US (Yellowstone & Grand Teton),
Russia (St.Petersburg, Moscow),
Kazakhsatn (Almaty),
Kyrgyzstam (Bishkek, Karakol, Tienshan, Arashan trekking),
Uzbekistan (Tashkent, Samarkand, Bukahara, Khiva, Nukus),
China (Urumqi, Kashgar, Tashkurgan, Turpan, Dunhuang, Jiquan, Jiayuguan, Xi'an, Xiamen),
Taiwan (back)

I had published all my travel diaries in Chinese on my private blog. If you can read Chinese, welcome to my blog to read them. I also put them on my facebook and more photos are in my flickr

Now i am writing again in English and focusing more on some impressive stories.
Hope you like it


Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.061s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb