St. Petersburg walkabout


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Saint Petersburg
November 19th 2010
Published: November 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Admiralty SpireAdmiralty SpireAdmiralty Spire

Spire of the Admiralty building at the end of Nevsky Prospect.
A full day of walking around St, Pete's and I'm beat. This sightseeing business is hard work! (yeah I know, very little sympathy from my friends who are really at work...) After a nice breakfast at my hotel, I headed up Nevsky Prospect on foot to check out the heart of this city. Breakfast, by the way, was a nice little buffet with a choice of breads, rolls, cheeses, sausage (both cold, sliced meats and a hot mini-wienie type option), cereals, hard boiled eggs, various juices, coffee and tea. There was also a heated container of cooked pasta "shells". No sauces around, just the pasta. Hmmmm....? Good though!

Meanwhile, walking up Nevsky Prospect, I got a good look at the average Russian heading to work on a chilly, misting morning. I knew I had a long day ahead of me, so I took my stroll at an easy pace, generally slower that the hustling people around me. The people watching was exceptional. Groups of older ladies, well dressed and intent on talking loudly to their friends; a knot of serious young Russian soldiers on leave, sporting camo coats and blue fur hats; smartly dressed young business women clacking down the
The Winter PalaceThe Winter PalaceThe Winter Palace

Seen from the edge of Palace Square.
street in high boots and fairly short skirts (seems to be the current style) and the occasional police or military official with a long coat topped by epaulettes and one of those great soaring peaked caps. Love those hats!

The architecture was impressive as well. The wide boulevards and 18th century buildings are evocative of Paris. I eventually came to the end of the Prospect, where a two other streets intersect it just across from the Admiralty building. I read that the three streets were suposed to form a trident, showing how seriously Csar Peter the Great took his new navy while planning his new capital. Just to the right of the intersection lies Palace Square.

The Winter Palace of the Csars sits grandly between the square (which is actually a triangle) and the River Neva. The Winter Palace now houses The Hermitage Museum, one of the largest and finest collections of artwork in the world. And when I say large, I mean HUGE. This place is on par with the Louvre in sheer size of the collection, as well as quality of both the artwork and setting. The building itself is said to have 1500 rooms and I think I saw most of them! I spent about four hours wandering around the various collections. I won't try and describe them all, but they included works by just about any artist you could think of. In the dutch masters area, I think I saw over 15 Rembrandt's! I particularly like Rembrandt's work and suffice it to say I was just amazed when every corner I turned offered 3 or 4 more of his paintings! One area was chock full of Impressionist paintings. Monet's, Manet's, Renoir's, you name it. They also had everything from giant Reubens wall size paintings to small mysterious DaVinci's. And gallery after gallery full of statuary from classical to modern times. One area was devoted to medieval arms and armor. I spent a bit of time in there as well.

When I finally staggered out I was exhausted and on art overload. I walked over to St. Isaac's Cathedral, but was just too dragged out to go in. I explored the area for awhile and made my way over toward the Mariinsky Opera and Ballet Theater. I know, sounds highbrow, but I was really heading to the Shamrock Irish Pub next door! I love stopping at Irish pubs all around the world. They have to be one of Ireland's greatest contributions to world culture. A slight libation and a twice baked potato later, I was up to wandering again. I made my way back to the hotel with my second successful foray into the Metro system.

So here I am, still waiting for news on my stray luggage. Hopefully any time now...





Advertisement



19th November 2010

Enjoying!
So did you add maple syrple to the ham and cheese pancakes?? I've been to the Hermitage what an amazing place. Glad to hear your continuing to sniff out the Irish Pub in each locale! Have fun and be safe!
19th November 2010

Suffice it to say - I loved it all. Mom
20th November 2010

Pancakes and Irish!
I did add maple syrup... and powdered sugar! Yummy!
20th November 2010

Be sure to visit the Money Honey rock-club in SPb. A wonderful place. http://www.money-honey.ru/ I hope your luggage find you Good Luck!
20th November 2010

Irish Pubs in Moscow
SALLY O'BRIEN'S http://www.sallyobriens.ru/ Belfast http://www.belfast-pub.ru/map.htm Mollis http://molliespub.ru/ Molly Malone's pub http://www.mollymalones-pub.ru/contact.html Doolin Hous http://doolin-house.ru/?page_id=71
20th November 2010

Thanks Trackball!

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0731s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb