Trip to the city


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Saint Petersburg
January 2nd 2010
Published: January 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

The start of my first full day in St. Petersburg. After a needed good nights sleep I was greeted by a cooked breakfast of eggs, tamatoes, oninions and basil. Olga took me to the metro to meet Bente, where I had my first taste of the interior of St. Petersburg underground stations. Bente was explaining that the line we were taking (the red line) was the first to be built therefore more elaborate than all the others. We arrived at Nevesky Prospek which is one of the major streets, simalar to oxford street in London. Bente told me a cafe to eat at, I headed there after seeing St Isaacs, something I learn't after the cafe was to check what came with a 'main course' I ordered a chicken breast and a beer, I recieved one chicken breast and a beer. I had to go and search for a chocolate bar or bag of crisps to fill my belly. I got a call soon after I left the cafe from Bente. She offered me a ticket to see a choir performing a piece by a famous Russian composer and I jumped at the chance. It was held in the church of the saviour on the blood. Words can't discribe how incredible it was, the sound that was being produced from just 30 people was loud and so clear, It was a really unexpected expirence and something I would love to see again.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.031s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 21; dbt: 0.0155s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb