My journey begins


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Saint Petersburg
January 2nd 2010
Published: January 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

For those reading this that do not know me, my name is Elliot and this is my first time travelling on my own. I have decided to start my jorney in st petersburg, Russia. I was greeted at the airport by a friend of my Granndad, his name is Alexei. I could instantly see why my Granndad liked him, he is very friendly, funny and we had a lot to talk about. As soon as he picked me up, we went to meet an old friend of his, Bente. She's great, Bente is from Denmark, and has given me a lot time in the past few days. After picking us both up Alexei took us back to meet his family. His wife Olga, and two sons Misha and Kirill. With not a moment to lose out came a drink. We started with a glass of wine, then another and another. To be honest I was not pacing myself and by the time I sat down for dinner I had had 3 glasses. Olga cooked a starter of wild mushrooms (from the supermarket) the only reason I mention this is Olga loves to go out picking in the right time of year, but a snow covered st petersburg would not bring up much to eat. After the starter Alexie and Olga had decided to take us to a house they were building about 30km outside of the centre. The house was a huge contrast to the flat they were living in, and understandbly very excited to show Bente and I around. The house was in a good area and Bente told me it was a huge achievement for a working couple to have a place such as this. After seeing the house, it was back to the flat for some rabbit! Later in the evening after more wine, we had coffee and paint stripper, Bente recommended something from Denmark called Old Denmark. I didn't enjoy it, even before she gave it to be I knew I wouldn't but in politness I took a glass. The only discription without offending anyone, was very bitter and very strong. All this drinking put me to bed for an early start for my first trip to the city.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0484s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb