The Crazy Cafe at Lubovskaya


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Moscow
August 24th 2006
Published: August 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The CafeThe CafeThe Cafe

You can see three of the levels
Last night we all went to the Billingua cafe for our week's meeting with Professor Zhivov. I swear that place was the most unusual cafe I have ever been to. You walk inside and find yourself on a balcony next to a cash register. From there you can take the stairs down to the disco room that the balcony overlooks, or take a small flight of stairs to a room filled with books, or take the side door which has stairs leading to the restaurant and bar. From the balcony you can see both the dance room and the book shelves. They had converted the disco room into a dinning room for us.
They served us huge trays of plums, peaches, grapes, apricots, pastries, chocolates, and every imaginable type of cookie. After eating and talking a bit, I went to look at some books by the balcony/entry. This guy came up to me, and said in nearly perfect English, "Hello. Are you American?" When I said yes he told me about an English speaking group he supposedly wants me to join. He told me where they met and I said maybe I'll come sometime (but really not planning to ever go).
Group Meeting at BilinguaGroup Meeting at BilinguaGroup Meeting at Bilingua

The old guy in the middle is Professor Zhukov, the director of the program. I think he's one of the cutest old guys I've ever seen. Doesn't he look like a thin version of Santa Claus?
He wanted to get my email. At that point I suggested that he talk to professor Zhivov so that he could tell the whole group about it (Really wanting him to talk to professor Zhivov to find out if the group is legitimate). The guy didn't want to talk to professor Zhivov so either a) he was intimidated by the old guy or b) he's a crook.
Everyone could see me talking to the guy from down below and Alex was making faces at me. And now he is sitting next to me teasing me about it again.
After our meeting with professor Zhivov we all headed upstairs to the bar. I decided that I wouldn't drink enough to affect me much and that I would go home with Alec and Kirill (they live at the same Metro stop). I only drank 1/4 a liter of beer which looked like nothing. But Russian beer is much stronger than American beer. I started to feel dizzy almost immediately. I wasn't quite drunk but was definitley buzzed. Thankfully Alec and Kirill walked me all the way to the entrance of my appartment.
The area where my appartment is located looks really scary late at night. I have to take a dark alley to the appartment area and then go by several other appartment complexs. The whole area was very poorly lit and at midnight the only other people there were a group of young guys at a picnic table. Whenever I walk home after dark I'm going to have to have Alec or Kirill walk back with me.

Advertisement



24th August 2006

Walking at night
Genna - I finally sat down and read through all your journal entries! Fascinating! Sounds like you are having an adventure, indeed. You quickly caught on about Russian men - on the streets a smile is interpreted directly as a lead-on (for the worst types, too - opportunists). Normal Russians do not meet on the streets - streets are for petty thieves, opportunists, and, of course, tourists. Physical contact is not as big a deal as it is in US - men kissing, women holding hands, patting, brushing a hand along your thigh... the list can go on before the line is crossed. Higher degree of tolerance is needed here for that kind of thing (compared to US), maintain your distance. Remember, though, that you are in largest and most economically diverse city in Russia, if not in the world. Every target (such as an American visitor) is an economic opportunity for all willing to take it. Gypsies and Russians alike. I know you are just too nice of a girl, and wiping the smile off your face to fit in has been challenging (I am smiling, though, as I write this). However, in your effort to put on a "not-available" face do remember to maintain a degree of politeness. Russian man (especially southerners) can be offended, if your reply is too abrupt. Just remember to throw "spasibo" in you rejections, firmly say things like "Spasibo, ne nado!" - kind of in one breath. Give them a just little respect, their self-esteem has been in the toilet long enough - can make anybody angry. Also, normal male friends can be made - in proper surroundings (such as through friends, classmates, etc., off the street). About food - breakfast is usually loaded with carbs and protein for Russians - biggest meal of the day. You can, however, get cold boxed cereal in stores, and have that in the morning. Beware of American "rejects" food stuffs in stores. It ends up on Russian store shelves for reason - Russia is a big profit grounds for American economic opportunist, too (but that's just the Ann Arborite granola girl talking :)). Well, I hope this is not too lengthy - I am glad your host family situation is working out. Yes, the upset about your mom staying with you, I can garantee, had mostly to do with Russians not willing to "look bad" or "udarit lizom v gryaz" in front of guests. Your host mom was in desperation over not being able to provide "worthy" accomodations for your mom. It's that asiatic influence. Wow, I really hope your semester goes well. I will keep on reading your journal. And do not hesitate to write to me directly if you have any questions or concerns at: natalias@umich.edu Do svidanya! Natasha
25th August 2006

That sounds like a very cool cafe! Do you have pictures of any of the places you've been to? If so, I can't wait to see them! If not, I'll hopefully see them next year. ;-) When I used to go running in high school, we didn't live in the best neighborhood so my dad gave me one of those beeper-looking where if you pull a pin out, it makes this unbearably-loud sound that can be heard blocks away. I think I'll have to take that with me when I go to Russia to give me the illusion of being safe. ;-) Be careful walking around in the dark!

Tot: 0.232s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.122s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb