Life


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Moscow
August 18th 2008
Published: August 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

well life in moscow, is interesting. i wish i had all these interesting stories to write about, like being chased by dogs or strangled in a mcdonalds. but unfortunately that all happened to my friend igor all within the past 2 weeks we have been here.
my life i cant say has been that exciting, but i still enjoy it here, class is fun and we dont have class on fridays. this past weekend we went to the metro museum. and then a few friends and i went to an old monastary, Petrovsky Monastir. its quite amazing, to see all these churches and they are now ACTIVE, which is even more surprising.
i am having yt\trouble concet\ntrating writing right now becuase it is SOOOOOO HUMID. of course no one would think to install air conditioning. well this is Russia. i knew to expect this.
yesterday, I moved in with my host. Her name is Natalia Borisovna. She is super nice to me. i really like her. the only thing is that i live far from everyone else so it will be difficult to hang out and meet in the evenings. o well.
ooh, i forgot, on thursday i saw the Ballet. it wasnt the Bolshoi, but another one. it was only 20 dollars, so i didnt mind. what was odd was that it was the Nutcracker. kinda wierd, right? o well. it was really nice. this friday we are going on a tour of the kremilin and then next weekend we go to St. Petersburg.
My views on MOscow have not really changed since I last wrote. People are still pushy, but they are pushy when u dont know them. the ones i have met are so very nice to me. Yesterday my host, took me to a friends dacha and we had watermelon. He is armenian, i told him about gagik 😊 i think we are gonna go back there sometime soon for bbq, but i dotn know. im gonna let my host plan everything. she took me to the grocery store, bought me some food etc. she FED me A LOT lol, like a true russian.
what was interesting is that 1, her apt used to be a cooperative back in the day
2. she and i were talking and she said something interesting. She said that in a way I am more Russian than she and others here, because my family held onto Russian traditions/beliefs etc. our apt is near a beach so i am hoping to go there this weekend or maybe even thursday. i dunno. anyhoo, i miss u all xoxoxo


shot shot. 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb