A part of history.


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Centre » Tver
February 28th 2006
Published: March 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The lesson this morning with Lyudmila Giorgevna, the lady with grey hair, was good. We gave short presentations that we had prepared about a piece of news from this weeks' papers. I spoke about an article on the 'day of the defenders of the fatherland' and how it was celebrated in Tver, from yesterdays' 'Tverskaya Zhizn''.

In the afternoon I went for another walk on my own through Tver. The temperature was minus 10 and the air was clear blue and very still. I am learning which street leads to which square which makes finding my way across town easier. Walking around Ploschad' Sovetskaya I found a part of history. Written on a plaque on the side of the elegant red building on the western side is: "In 1917 this square was the place of a mass meeting and demonstration of revolutionary workers and soldiers of the town of Tver." I took my mind back an entire lifetime, and imagined what the scene must have been like on that day, leading up to the October Revolution.

Michael Yenu and Natasha were sitting around the kitchen table when I got home, drinking coffee and struggling with a child's crossword. I
A plaque from Ploschad' Sovetskaya.A plaque from Ploschad' Sovetskaya.A plaque from Ploschad' Sovetskaya.

"In 1917 this square was the place of a mass meeting and demonstration of revolutionary workers and soldiers of the town of Tver."
spent the night in a kofeiniya with Anya and did my translation homework for Aleksandr Ivanovich. It's a much better place to work than obshezhitie. In the middle of an old fashioned district the café is rather cosmopolitan, with Turkish coffee on the menu and Dali prints on the walls.

Stepping onto the street at 12.45 the cold air rushed into my lungs and I couldn't breath properly - when I got back to the obshezhitie the babushka in reception told me it was minus 17.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.033s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0164s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb