Coming Home!


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Centre » Obninsk
October 26th 2006
Published: October 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Okay, several things to note from the past week. I guess today was the most "exciting" in that I had to go to the local hospital for all of my tests. I had a chest X-ray for TB and then blood drawn for the rest of the tests. You are not going to believe this, but it cost me two chickens and 948 rubles. Yes, I am serious, two chickens! I will get all of my results back in two weeks. This was needed for my work visa. I just hope they let me back in Russia after coming home this next week!

Last night I worked night shfit to see my sanitation team. We have a long ways to go, but the good part, they seem interested in wanting to learn. It is just my chief vet that will hold them back so I am going to make an organizational change and have sanitation report directly to me as oppose to the chief vet and yes, you are seeing a trend here. I spoke to to Nina about her goals and like most Russians, she does not really look to the future so did not know what I was talking about in terms of her career goals. We finally walked through it and she does not want my job, which not what I expected, but openned a few doors for me to make a change based on her answer.

On Tuesday, I went to Dasha's parents for dinner. Dinner was great and they were so nice to me and Michael. They bought me this beatiful stainless steel sugar dish. It looks so nice, I hate to even use it. I think I am going to put candies in it as oppose to sugar, but it is nice! I honestly do not know what all we exactly had, but it was all great. I did not even have to use my mom's rule of at least trying everything on your plate. Things looked different than what we would normally cook, but nothing looked bad and everything tasted great. Sergay, Dasha's father, I think was trying to get me drunk on the homemade grain alcohol. I hate to say it, but it tasted better than the vodka we changed to. After a few toasts, I was feeling pretty good! Maybe that is why dinner tasted so good...lol On top of all of that, they had wine and even bought me diet Pepsi which is not easy to find so I know they went out of their way to get that just for me.

And my deserts...what can I say, but I was darn proud of them. They loved the sugarcream pie, made with real cream and not sour cream. (Thanks Mom, it was a great hit and was even asked to bring another one the next time I come). The apple pie was a little dry. I added too much powder for the apples. I used two differnt types of apples, but not sure what kind. I can not remember if I told this story, but when i used my online translator, it used the word "caustic" for tart so I initially asked for "caustic apples" as oppose to "tart apples." The other ones I used were sweeter but had some red in them so added a nice color. And thanks to Angie, one of the online readers, the crusts came out great. Lois, I tried yours at first and it was terrible. I do not know what happened, but it just fell apart. Angie's uses a little baking powder which I think helps to make them fluffy. I now have Crisco thanks to one of our consultants, but I appreciate everyone's help. If anyone has easy, using simple ingredients recipes for pies and desserts, you are more than welcome to send them. Everyone thinks I can cook and honestly, I owe it all to my mom for making us help in the kitchen...thanks Mom (and Dad for working so Mom could stay at home with us kids) - I love you both!

P.S. Mark, I will see what I can do to make you a pie while I am home. Any particular kind? (Mark sent me a note saying his mouth was watering after reading about all of my pie experiences and wanted to know where his was...lol)

Oh, I forget to finish my story about the hospital. After going in this place if you were not on your death bed when you got there, you would be by the time you leave. This building was so old and dirty looking. It was terrible. It was as busy as any major inner city hospital with all races and creeds. If I did not have our company doctor and Dasha with us, I am not sure I would even have the slightest clue where to go. The best way I can describe it, you remember the show MASH and the conditions they had to work, that is about what this placed looked like. It was terrible and yes, they pulled my blood there.

I am not sure where I am going to find time for everything, but I found a Russian teacher. I spoke with her tonight and we are going to start lessons when I get back from the US. It is funny, she lives 4 doors down from me in the same building so at least when it is cold outside, it will not be a far walk.

The guys at volleyball tonight made me feel good. I gave them a note telling them I would be gone for the next couple of weeks while in the US and they all wanted to ask me questions and make sure I was coming back. I even got a hug from a couple of them. At times I do not feel part of the group since I can not speak the language, but overall, I am really glad I joined. Michael as found a very modern and nice gym and wants me to join him there so now, with Russian class, volleyball, working second shift from time to time and going to the gym, I am do not know where I am going to find time for Vince...lol

It started to rain pretty hard today, which brought the cold front with it so I think our heat way is over. It is in the upper 30's which is as cold as it has been for almost a week (last Saturday). On Sunday, they are calling for snow again so i guess it is time to pull out the long johns! To be honest, I am kind of glad with this heat on in the apartment and no control for it, it has been hot here in the apartment. The landlady came for rent this week and asked me how the temperature has been, I told her HOT, she laughed and said, just wait. I am sure it is coming!

Nothing major planned this week. For those that know my habits well, yes, I am already packed and ready to go. I could finish packing in just a few minutes if I had to...lol I do want to go the market this weekend for a few more things to bring back with me, but other than that, I am ready. I am going to clean and just relax here this weekend. I think I may go to Moscow tomorrow after work, but it will just be for dinner and then back. The landlord is suppose to come and fix the dripping sink and replace the cover on the stove/oven exhaust vent sometime as well. If I think of more, I will write.

For those in the Gainesville area, I will be at Buffalo's in Oakwood on Thursday after the business day. I will stop by the Wayne Farm's corporate office in the afternoon on Thursday before heading to Buffalos. I hope to see a lot of you and thank you for all of your notes and comments.

Vince

Advertisement



27th October 2006

Thanks
Thanks Vince for the kind words. Guess some of the preaching sank in, Ha At least you won't starve for not being able to cook.
28th October 2006

More Than You Could Ever Know
I would call it more teaching than preaching, but it sank in more than you could ever know! I would not be where I am or could not have ever done something like this without all of your love and support. Thank you! I love you both!

Tot: 0.4s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1307s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb