Getting More Like Home


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Centre » Obninsk
March 11th 2007
Published: March 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

FriendsFriendsFriends

I know you have seen this picture, but wanted to add it again as "friends" here in Russia. (Christmas 2006 dinner at Dasha's parents home.)
I am not sure Russia will ever be home, but I must say I am feeling more and more like I am at home. I can not remember what day it was, but one day last week I was having dinner at Dom da Doma (local restaurant near my flat) and while I was there I ran into two people I know. The first one I did not see, but he saw me and came right over to say hello. He is a friend of Dima and does not speak a word of English, but wanted to say hello. Then I saw a couple I met at one of the parties come up the stairs so I waved at them and they came over and joined me. He speaks okay English so we had some conversation at the table.

Then yesterday as I was running to Dom da Doma (also a grocery store) to get a few things, I ran into three people I knew on the street. It was actually Natalia & Pavel and a friend of theirs that I met at the coffee shop with them. It was funny since I was going to the grocery store to
FriendsFriendsFriends

This also reminded me, I tried calling Dima last night and his mom answered. I have no idea what we talked about but she was so excited to talk to me, even though it was in Russian. It ended up Dima was not home, but I had a nice "chat" with Dima's mom. (Dima and his mom at my flat for drinks one evening.)
get supplies for dessert for tonight for their visit so I stood and talked with them for a little bit. Then while shopping this lady (Anna) came up to me and said, "You are Vince, right?" in plain English. She said, "You do not know me but I am good friends with Kate (my Russian teacher) and she has told me all about you." So then we started talking.

I guess when you are one of the few Americans living in a small city, you sort of stand out; but it does make you feel good to start seeing people and meeting people when you are out on the town. Natalia's comment to me, "You are actually staying here in Obninsk for the weekend?" as she knows about all of my travels. I told her I was just getting in from Moscow, but wanted to get the supplies for tomorrow night.

Then the final example of making friends/Obninsk becoming home, which is why I decided to update the blog because it is things like this that I do not want to forget. I was having coffee and still trying to decide what to cook for this evening for dessert when the doorbell rang. My first thought the water was leaking downstairs again so I ran to the bathroom (no wonder my back hurts when I jump like that...lol) even though I knew I was not doing laundry. The bell rang again and I am thinking who would be at my door at this hour in the morning (around 9:30 AM). I would think robbers would come at night and Dasha/Michael would surely have called first before stopping over so looked out the peep hole, which about that time they yelled, "Binc ('V' here sounds more like a 'B'), it is Rodion, are you home!" Again some people I met and he wanted to go walking to practice his English. He knows written English well, but his oral/listening is not very good as he is taught from books, but I will give anyone credit for learning on their own especially since I have a teacher and I still only know a few words/sentences.

I am not sure that was becuase of friends as much as to help him with English, but it made me feel good they actually had enough courage to stopped and ask. I declined as I needed to finish cleaning and get something made as well as the land lord/lady are suppose to be here around noon to fix the slow leak I have in my "haunted bathroom".

I think it was my sister that told me making friends is a double edge sword. On one side, it makes you feel like you are part of the community and this is home; but it is going to be very hard to leave when that time comes. Right now, for me, it is a good thing, but she is so correct. Okay, I need to get my hot then cold shower (per the doctor) and finish mopping (which I am sure he told me I can not do...lol).

Advertisement



12th March 2007

More Friends
Today while I was at Compass, another grocery store, picking up some candy for my niece and nephew, I ran into Anna and Andrey, the two that usually host the parties at their summer home. They neither one can speak any English, but we were able to say hello, smile, shake hands and say a few words that the other did not have any idea what the other was saying. The point is, I am starting to run into people I know all over town, which is exciting.
12th March 2007

Chased Around the Store
I wanted a few wine glasses as I am tired of drinking out of juice glasses so before going to the grocery store, I stopped by the "department store" where they usually sell single glasses from sets that break pretty cheap. I grabbed two and continued my shopping, this whole time the poor girl was trying to tell me that I picked two from the set of six. I did not know exactly what she was telling me but I knew she wanted me to put them back then I realized they were part of the demo display and not for sale as individuals. She pointed me to the single ones where I should have gone in the first place, but it was funny as you followed me around the store trying to tell me something until I finally figured out she wanted me to put the glasses back...lol

Tot: 0.459s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.211s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb