Arriving in Brasov


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Transilvania » Brasov
October 12th 2011
Published: October 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I got to the hostel around 8 am from the night train and I was exhausted I luckily got to check in early and I took a nice long nap till about noon.

It was a rainy day in Brasov and very cloudy so I grabbed my umbrella and started to explore the little city. It was going to be hard to compete with Budapest. Budapest was just an amazing city and definitely one of my top 3.

Ok back to Brasov. Something I didnt know is that Transilvania is a county not just a city in Romania. I always thought it was a city and that's where Dracula was based out of. Well anyways Brasov is a city in Transilvania which is pretty much in the valley of two mountains, one very large one and then a small one. On the large mountain you see their Hollywood sign look alike but of course just the word Brasov. The lady told me that Hollywood stole the idea from them. ha. The other side is just more of a large hill with two towers. Ill get back to those later.

I first walked to the main Pedestrian street where all the shops and cafes were called Street Republicii. Grabbed some coffee there and a sandwich. At the end of the street there is the Piata Sfatului ( a plaza square ) and this is where the last which was hung in the square. Other then the hanging there it was a very nice square with the a nice water fountain in the middle and a church on the side. Didnt really sit and enjoy it since the weather was not in my favor.

I then walked to the Biserica Neagra ( the black church ) I have come to learn that pretty much anything that has the word black in it was at one point burned or caught on fire like the black Madonna I saw back in Barcelona. When you walk into the church it smells like freshly cut woods. It was a very beautiful simple church inside with old rugs hanging on the sides. This church was massive for its location though. As you can see from some of the pictures that I took from a hill top this church just sticks right out of the little city.

Took a while but finally found the one of the most narrowest streets in Europe. Nothing really exciting ha but Im sure I could make a more narrow street that just a moped could fit through but of course I walked through it and started to head to the two towers on the hills

The white tower and the black tower. Again the BLACK tower, so it was once burned. These two towers were up on the hill next to the city. It was an easy hike up to the towers and it also gave me a good shot of the city. Everything was pretty much in walking distance. The church as I said before was massive compared to the city size. Had some really good photos of it. Both towers were not to far apart and gave me two different angles of the city.

That was pretty much all of Brasov, the only other thing that I could have done is go up the main mountain where the sign was but I didnt think I would have a good view since it seemed to be in the clouds.

After I went back to load up some pics and relax and grabbed dinner later in the evening. The main Reason I came to Brasov is because its near Dracula's Castle which I get to see tomorrow YAY I hope the weather is nice.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0581s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb