Focsani and Bucuresti


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Muntenia » Bucharest
May 28th 2010
Published: May 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I got back into Focsani in ample time to find Anamaria and initiate my new idea of snapping photos of the books I sent to them as a short-term alternative to getting a full database file. Talking to Ana showed me how innovative the Focsani people were in absorbing the books and putting them on the shelves for the patrons. In fact, “officially” these books are still in storage and she indiceted that it may be years until the libraries of Baia Mare and Suceava process the books. This makes A. and her staff/volunteers my heroes.

All the hot babes seemed to come out as I was getting ready to leave. I met at least 4 girls in the library as I was gearing-up to go. grrr… A. got me to the bus station in plenty of time and I was able to grab a single seat. And wonder of wonders the air-conditioning worked. It’s true that trains are much more comfortable, but the convenience of buses is more welcome. Unlike the impression one gets from the lack of posted schedules and difficulty finding phone numbers, the bus system is very organized, perhaps too much so. The government determines the amenities and condition of the busses (good) and decides how many busses are needed between cities and offers routes up for bid.

Entry into Bucuresti was a long-term affair, as it is a very large city. But it soon became obvious I was on-target when some buildings began sporting “Bucuresti” in its wording. I’m always hinky about people getting off early and the safety of my baggage, but all was well. I called Mariana and let her know I had arrived. She told me to take a cab to her place and insisted on talking to the driver to give hm what-for and not to screw me.

It was decided I would spend my first night at her (and her teenage son’s) place to give me time to acclimate. She fed me a bowl of mamaligia with cheese and sour cream and then took me to meet a friend of hers for a drink. We (actually she) introduced ourselves to a young Michigan missionary couple who are here working for two years with orphans and abandoned babies. We walked and talked and exchanged phone numbers as I asked them to invite me along on one of the baby-holding sessions they’ll have next week. I hope they take me up on it.

They took their leave and the three of us walked around Lipscani and finally chose a place to sit and have a couple beers. As we discussed this and that it was mentioned about the demonstrations planned to begin Monday. I thought it would be a interesting thing to go and experience it, until I was reminded that the general strike would involve busses and subways. Suddenly, it wasn’t so interesting.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.259s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.064s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb