Suceava to Turgu Frumos


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Moldova » Iasi » Targu Frumos
May 13th 2010
Published: May 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I took a late night shower and packed-up ready to go. I left very early, even without knowing the schedule of the buses, confident there would be several going to Iasi. I tossed all my stuff onto one that has Iasi painted on the outside, only to discover that was the generic sign on all the busses. I was on the wrong one. I had to take all my stuff out and was led to the proper stall. My shepard started hollering at me when I went to get a drink, thinking I would wander off. I grabbed a bottle of water and tried to pay for it, but the vendor said it was from the next one's supply. I went there and he said it was from the other vendor's supply. I went back and forth trying to pay somebody, anybody, until an onlooking declared which box I took it from.

Natalie, my Peace Corps contact told me to tell the driver to let me off at the hospital, as they have no formal gara there. She met me and walked me the 25 yards to her school. Very nice. She invited me to a couple of her classes and afterwards she and I and her counterpart (who is marrying an American Fulbright scholar soon) and the other American had a bite

Then we hooked up with Jennifer who teaches at one of Romania's few schools for the blind, thought most are more properly called visually impaired, as most do have some sight. I was honored to be the guest at the very first full meal they prepared. Garlic chicken with potatoes and full garnishments plus a dessert. It was absolutely stunning!! It was so exciting to watch the kids work as a team and helping each other so much, where one might expect competition and horseplay.

The rain started and put a damper on further activity, leading to a quiet evening in the hotel.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.356s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 9; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0745s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb