One more day in Porto


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Northern » Porto
March 29th 2007
Published: March 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

One more day in Porto

 Europe » Portugal » porto By AK Julia
March 29th 2007
Julia Normand
Back to my regular teacher today--Sara, who is a grand lady, born in France to Portuguese parents who left Portugal during the Salazar period. she grew up learning both Portuguese and Frence. First her sister came back to Portugal, then she did, then her parents. She's very patient with me and very helpful, partly because she knows English and can tell in English if I really don't understand. However, she almost always manages, one waqy or another to get me to understand in Portuguese.
Today, the school had an activity for the students. Check out the pictures, and you'll see I am by BY FAR the oldest student. The "kids" are very kind to this old lady. It's fun to be around them--for awhile. Then I prefer to be on my own.
Saturday, I go by intercity train to Guimaraes for three days. Since I'm part of the group known as "tercer edade," third age, I only had to pay 2 Euros. I'm not sure what second age is. I'll have to ask.
More tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Playing aroundPlaying around
Playing around

Juliana, Daniel, & me
AzuleosAzuleos
Azuleos

The front of the house is all tiles
Repair cars for the StreetcarsRepair cars for the Streetcars
Repair cars for the Streetcars

Both have lifts to get up to work on the lines, but the front one is more useful since it didn't need electricity to get to the site.
Street RepairStreet Repair
Street Repair

Huge piece of equipment that is hslping to dig up one of the main streets to do underground work.
Lisbon's Eifel ElevatorLisbon's Eifel Elevator
Lisbon's Eifel Elevator

This is a picture of Lisbon from a tower built by Eifel (sp?)
Another Broken PromiseAnother Broken Promise
Another Broken Promise

More paving stones, these quite complicated


1st April 2007

Nice pictures!
This is a first, being able to see you trip as it happens!
11th April 2007

Muito obrigada, Julia... Foi um prazer ser sua professora. Fico à espera de um blog em português! :) Um beijo

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.024s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb