Well, Plans Do Change!


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Northern » Porto » Paredes
February 2nd 2023
Published: February 3rd 2023
Edit Blog Post

My trip to the Lisboa area, and Porto are, as they say, "Up in the air" for now. My friend has not yet closed on her beach home in Cascais, due to many issues related to closing the sale. So, as always, I have a Plan B just in case. So, after a few days in Munich, I will either take the train to Slovenia, then maybe on to Athens, or perhaps make a little side trip to Albania. The train from Munich to Ljubljana is rather short, just over six hours. And very affordable. It takes about the same amount of time as flying. In fact, travel experts are suggesting I fly into Venice, and take the bus! I don't think so! Actually, I ended up in Lisboa on Monday. I decided that heading south was a better idea. The people and food in Lisbon are very interesting. Then after stuffing myself full of lobster, and fresh seabass, I decided to fly up to Porto. Why? It is the home of Port wine, at one time quite a favorite. In fact, you may remember that Mr. Mike and I chased all over the southern Portugal area for vintage ports. It turns out that one of them, the 1963 Quinto do Noval is the envy of every port drinker in the world!! I just did not realize Porto is the second biggest city in Portugal, and just seems too busy for my liking. I was expecting a sleepy little port village, but instead, it is the hotbed of growth and construction. So, I am headed out of here tomorrow for Warsaw (to visit a refugee camp), Munich, then close the trip in Istanbul. I apologize for not sending this in November while I was in Europe (with a bad cough). I was sick for another two weeks after returning home.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 19; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb