SUPER BOCK! (Day 16)


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Northern » Braga
May 28th 2010
Published: May 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

bombombom

bom jesus
Got up and went on a run to get rid of the small hangover from last night before I hopped on a train north to Braga, the religious capital of Portugal. It is one of the oldest cities in the country as evidenced by the remaining Roman city walls. The weather wasnt great the first few hours as I was there but by the afternoon it was 75 and sunny, like usual here. For some reason I decided to walk out to the Bom Jesus religious site instead of taking the train. After getting lost for a bit I finally arrived there after two hours. Probably about a 6 or 7 mile walk. Not good times, bad times. It was definitely worth it though. The path up the mountain that the church sits on starts towards the place then you wind your way up. It is supposed to tell the story of how Jesus died, I think, so they have chapels (12 in total I think) at each turn up to the main church. Its hard to describe how cool it looks once you get up there so hopefully the pics I put up soon will do it justice. Not only
from the topfrom the topfrom the top

from the top
is the church beautiful, so are the views of the city once you reach the pinnacle.

I did the smart thing next and took the bus back to town instead of walking. I was pretty beat after that walk so I did little but meander through the streets of Braga and did a little wine shopping for later. Took the hour or so train back to Ermisinde (where we stayed outside of Porto) where I met Maria and Eurico at the station. Just like the night before we got some beer, wine and food on the way home. This time it was Eurico who cooked. Another fine meal. Alberto and Eurico's girlfriend came over shortly to join us. After a few drinks we headed out to Porto to check out a few bars. Bar hopped through the night including an awesome place right on the beach. I know the bars weren't popping or anything but I still had a great time hanging out with everyone. Ended up staying up pretty much all night back at the place just talking until we realized that the sun had fully rose on us. Whoops. Once again, I cannot believe how lucky I
pathpathpath

path up to the bom jesus
am to be here with all of them. I keep telling them how much I like the food, cities and everything but Maria never believes me since I always say it hah. Its true though Maria. I like it very much here. You cannot convince me otherwise. Ciao.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

bom jesusbom jesus
bom jesus

quite a hike to this point


Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1221s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb