Sintra


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Lisbon & Tagus Valley » Sintra
July 20th 2007
Published: August 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

While in Lisbon I rented a car for a day trip to Sintra and some of the beaches near Lisbon. I’ve always wanted to go to Sintra since seeing pictures from a photo shoot my brother did here many years ago. My photos may not be as “professional” and are obviously missing the hot models, but hopefully you’ll still enjoy them.

Sintra is a storybook town nestled in the hills. Once the summer residence of the kings of Portugal, Sintra is a magical place with steep, steep mountains and lush forests. At the top of the mountain is the Disneylandesque Pena Palace, the colorful palace built in 1840 by a German man for his Portuguese wife. The pictures say it all (except for the crazy wind that made it difficult to hold the camera straight).

After Sintra I drove to Cabo de Roca which is known as being the most western point of Europe, even though when you’re there it looks like the point next to it is further (I’m sure someone more technical than I has measured it). This area reminds me of Marin Headlands. It’s really peaceful (when you walk away from the other tourists) and has beautiful hills and cliffs. A good 'sit and ponder' place.

Heading back to Lisbon I also stopped along a few beaches on the way back. Like I said, I wish I was here longer, but tomorrow I head for the Azores for nine days to swim with dolphins in the open ocean. Stay tuned! :-)



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Angry Fish Man in ShellAngry Fish Man in Shell
Angry Fish Man in Shell

Over the Palace Courtyard entrance. That will scare you away!
Pena Palace ViewsPena Palace Views
Pena Palace Views

It was so windy walking in this area I thought I was going to fall off the ledge!
Interesting ArtInteresting Art
Interesting Art

After seeing the BODIES exhibit, this piece of art could be a lot of things.
Cabo de RocaCabo de Roca
Cabo de Roca

Proof this is the most western point of Europe.
Cabo de RocaCabo de Roca
Cabo de Roca

And proof I'm at this most western point of Europe.
Cabo de Roca CliffsCabo de Roca Cliffs
Cabo de Roca Cliffs

Just like Marin Headland views.
Cabo de Roca Cliffs 2Cabo de Roca Cliffs 2
Cabo de Roca Cliffs 2

The other side of the cliffs.
Windsurfer's ParadiseWindsurfer's Paradise
Windsurfer's Paradise

This is my kind of sand, except when it's pelting you in the face.
Boca de InfernoBoca de Inferno
Boca de Inferno

A quite place near the "Mouth of Hell" where the waves crash against the rocks.


14th August 2007

homesick
Hi Christy!! I loved the picture of the Lisbon "Golden Gate Bridge". It made me miss home. After a month in Peru, Brian and I just crossed into Bolivia. Your trip looks like it has been amazing. Portugal is somewhere I have always wanted to go. I can´t wait to hear and see info on Africa. Be safe. love, sarah
19th August 2007

Beautiful place
That palace is beautiful! That creature/statue guarding it is a little frightening though! haha..Beautiful pics Christy! You're such a lucky girl:)

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb