Falling in Love Again...


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Lisbon & Tagus Valley » Lisbon
April 19th 2015
Published: April 19th 2015
Edit Blog Post

You all know those cliched rom-com moments? The one where the male lead - think Matthew McCona... I can't be bothered thinking of the spelling of his name, is bewailing his impending marriage to the female lead - think Kate Hudson - who at least has a spell-able name - usually with the phrase 'I'll never know the feeling of meeting another girl. The excitement of getting to know them, of learning all about them etc, etc'? You know those moments?

Why does the man he is saying this to never say to him - 'Shut up - whenever you travel, whenever you discover a new city, you can have this feeling all over again, and you can have the joy of sharing it with Kate'.

Because that's what happened to me this morning in Lisbon. It was just after 10, and Kel and I were up in the Bairro Alto at a bakery eating a tart - check out Kel's Instagram account for a photo - when I looked at the art deco interior and just came over all excited about being somewhere new. And the only point of reference that I had to describe the feeling was romantic frisson. The same combination of excitement and slight nervousness.

And once I realised this, I thought about the other cities I have come to know over the years, and how my relationships with them are like romantic relationships: the good, the bad and the worse than ugly - the cities and the romances...

I do love it when a metaphor comes together like that...

Cheers...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.046s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb