5. A happy ending of sorts - well its an ending:)


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Lisbon & Tagus Valley » Lisbon
April 13th 2009
Published: August 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I was like what the??? come on? I told him surely he could find us something my family had traveled all the way from Australia, gone through about 40 hours flying time to get here and you tell me there is no space? He kinda stuttered around for a little while then feebly made an attempt at making some calls. After calling and not getting through to anyone he said he would take us around looking for a hotel. I thought this was better then nothing but was starting to panic as I know the little patience our company members had left at this point. I told dad and Liz and they followed me as we went away from Pensoa Moderna, located at Rua Dos Pretto? to try another hotel 2 parallel streets away on Rua Sapateiros. They were busy. He spoke with the lady for a while then said most proberly there would be a space available at the hotel with this family. I came downstairs and nervously told dad and Liz the place we were staying at was close by to here.
It wasnt too far either at Rua da Gloria. The lady there was really nice and it ended up costing us about 30e a night to stay there for our own room with a shower and a shared toilet. Not bad at all.

Liz and dad finally got to wind down and have a shower and I said I would go to the shops to get Liz some tooth paste - she had to throw all her moisturisers etc out at customs in Australia. Not all of us are as lucky to check in luggage. Anyways once they have had a brief shower and have changed we go down stairs and find our cafe. Its close by and really delicious food. They bring out all these entrees and we eat and eat and by the time the mains come by we are stuffed but eat it to finish it off. One thing I didn’t realise about Portugal is they always bring out small entrees for you so you should always pick and choose what you want - don’t be afraid to send it back otherwise they charge you for everything.

After a delicious dinner I made my way to the supermarket nearby whilst Liz and dad scuttled home and went to bed. Whew!
(9 April 2009)



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



10th August 2009

Your pics are making me jealous
This place like amazing I am SO jealous.. i really wana go here too now...

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0261s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb