Oranges, beaches, and tiles.


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Algarve » Lagos
February 5th 2010
Published: February 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post


LAGOS Day 16


Woke up to the bright sun shine! I headed for the beach to check the sun and see some of the grottos. The first beach I walked to was very close to the city centre and there were only 3 other people there: one women painting and two boys surfing. At the end of the beach were grottos towards the next beach over so I crawled through the grotto and came out on another beach. There were only 2 people at this beach so I headed towards the grottos at the end again and crawled through but the tide was too high and I couldn’t access the beach. So I decided to relax for a bit at the beach before walking further out of town to the other beaches. The sun was warm and the sand was soft so this was easy to do.

I finally got up and walked towards Santa Ana beach which was completely empty. I had my own private beach to dip my toes in the water and relax on the sand watching the waves crash in. After a while on the beach I headed back towards town to walk around and get a look at the different tile work around the city. Everywhere in Portugal you see roosters painted on the tiles and as figures. The story goes, once there was a big party in a mansion in Barcelos and during the party the silverware went missing. One guest was accused and questioned. He was questioned all through the night and was granted one final chance to prove his innocents. The man announced, “if I am innocent the rooster will crow.” Shortly after his announcement the rooster did as it always did in the morning and cock-a-doodle-dooed. And the man was set free.

After walking around town admiring the tile and pottery work I headed to a Piri Piri restaurant for some spicy chicken. It was delicious! I really enjoyed Lagos. It is incredibly comfortable and the locals are very natural and not bothersome in any way.





Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0931s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb