Warsaw, Poland


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Masovia » Warsaw
July 13th 2013
Published: July 13th 2013
Edit Blog Post

When I lived in Arizona, I didn’t visit the Grand Canyon until about a month before leaving the state. I am always so busy with work that I just keep putting personal goals off until the last minute. But once I know I am leaving a place, I can’t put it off any more. So I make sure to see all the major sites before leaving.




I have continued this pattern until today. I have been in old town Warsaw for about 4 days only walking in immediate vicinity of old town. So yesterday, I kicked it in gear and started venturing further from my apartment in old town.




At first, I preferred Krakow over Warsaw, because there was so many interesting things going on in the city center of Krakow. But now that I have ventured further into Warsaw, I understand that Warsaw is just as interesting, and an order of magnitude more diverse.




On Friday night, I heard some Roaring 20s music so I headed in that direction. I was greeted at the door and told that it was $20 for a dance party with all you could eat and drink. So I went in and had a great time chatting with locals and got some good tips for things to do and see before leaving Warsaw.




I have been to a movie in the park, the symphony, a few museums, and out dancing. Warsaw is a livable place with a reasonable cost of living and a decent music scene, both classical and contemporary. For the young at heart, Macklemore is blowing up all over Eastern Europe. I am going to pop some tags if I get time.



I head to the Ukraine tomorrow. (Poland 53)


Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0305s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb