Down the mines


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Masovia » Warsaw » Anin
March 11th 2010
Published: March 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The day started by hostel staff knocking on my door looking for the heater that was in there and 8:20 am. Why they couldn't wait till later I dont know. I was booked on to a tour of the salt mines for 10:15 so I thought I might as well get up.

The trip was booked with the same company I went with yesterday so I knew it would be decent. It was a quick trip, only about 30 mins. The mine has been open for over 700 years and while the miners got bored on their lunch and stuff they would carve statues and chapels. the tour lasts for about 2 hours, but still only takes you into about 2% of the tunnels. Its really impressive all the stuff they've managed to make out of rock salt. The tour guide was funny too so that made it even better. Plus he used to work as a guide directly for the mines so managed to get us special stuff, like the lights and music show in the biggest chapel that was created for VIPs. Theres a seven ton statue of Pope John Paul the second in there too. They are even more obsessed with the pope than they are with Jersey Dudek here.

The best bit of the tour was the lift. It was about the size of my wardrobe back home and they expected 9 people to fit into it. So yours squished in with strangers and then you go really really fast 400 ft to the surface. We didnt get to see it but they've got 2 medical caves for people with lung problems because the salt in the air is good for them.

When we got back to Krakow I was planning on going to see the Da Vinci in the museum. My guide book said it was open till half 6, but when I go there about half 2 the bloke said it was shut. so I went and got something to eat instead. Then it started snowing so I think I'm just going to hang out here this afternoon.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0392s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb