Hanging by my fingernails


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Lesser Poland » Zakopane
October 13th 2006
Published: October 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Went to Zakopane which is located at the base of the Tatry Mountains. You may recall that I went to the High Tatras in Slovakia. Well this time I am on the Polish side.

I wanted to do a nice 6-hour walk, so went to the Tourist Info who showed me a decent route from Kuznice to Gasienicowa Hala and then to Czarny Staw (pretty lake). I'm not exactly the world's fastest walker as I like to enjoy the scenery and take photos. Even so I got to the lake in 1.5 hours without raising a sweat. This wasn't good enough as I needed to burn off the many Czech beers and carbs I had ingested the previous week. So I decided to keep going and took the green route to Zadni Granat. I must explain that the routes are colour-coded and relatively easy to follow. Yellow, blue and green are easy to moderate; and red and black are challenging and difficult.

What started out as a pleasant stroll quickly turned into a rock climbing adventure. Somehow or other I had ended up on a red route. To make matters worse, a thick mist had come into the valley. Various thoughts were running through my head at this time, such as -
(1) I am a stubborn idiot.
(2) I wish I had a good trail map. At least something more useful than the crappy diagram in my guidebook.

All I can say is that red route scared the BEJESUS out of me. I am not a fan of heights at all. And clambering on tiny ledges on my hands and knees whilst holding onto a random rock or shrub with sheer drops on both sides was not my idea of fun. Got off the route as soon as I could, and thank the Lord ended up back on the yellow and blue paths. Phew!!! Was totally buggered as I ended up walking for over 8 hours. They say the mountains are the only clever ones; too damn true.

Scenery-wise I thought the Polish side was more beautiful than the Slovakian side, but don't tell that to the Slovaks!








Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Get me outta hereGet me outta here
Get me outta here

Scary red route
FloraFlora
Flora

Beautiful autumn colours and foliage
Local cemeteryLocal cemetery
Local cemetery

Beautiful local wordwork on headstones
CheeseCheese
Cheese

Local specialty is ozcypek (smoked goats cheese) carved in unusual designs
Lamb shashliksLamb shashliks
Lamb shashliks

Mmmm, yummy dinner.


Tot: 0.597s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 35; qc: 123; dbt: 0.3124s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb