The long train ride to Krakow


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Lesser Poland » Kraków
October 11th 2009
Published: October 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I awoke this morning saddened at the thought that I have to leave Berlin. Out of everywhere I’ve been so far this was the most surprising. I really expected lots of down time but it ended up being go Go GO! from the moment I arrived. The tour book really didn’t do the city justice and set some low expectations. But between the city’s past (two the most interesting times in history in my mind) and some fabulous people I met I couldn’t have asked for a better time.

I rest easy knowing that I will be back in the future.

I caught my train without a problem and started on my 10+ hour journey to Krakow.

Along the way, conditions gradually deteriorated. First, the power outlets stopped working (so much for updating my journal/blog). Then the heat went out. Then the cabin light didn’t work (no reading). Food on the train was sparce. But of course I kept it to myself, thinking all the while about the hundreds of thousands that made far longer and much worse train trips to the area in the early 1940s. And they certainly had a much less hospitable welcome.

The hostel was right by the train station. When I arrived, I was greeted by one of the staff members who immediately asked if I was hungry. Yes I am. I hadn’t eaten since breakfast. She offered me the salad buffet that was still out from that night’s hostel dinner. While waiting to check in I dined on stuffed tomatoes, pasta salad, lettuce salad and asparagus.

My check in was with two other people - James from San Francisco and Julie from Seattle. She sat us down and talked for 15 minutes about the town, some tours of the surrounding area and the hostel. Afterwards she showed us our room. This is the first one I’ve been in without bunks. It’s no wonder that this one is one of the highest rated hostels around.

Tomorrow morning I’m going to embark on one of the tours to Auschwitz.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0746s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb