Come to Krakow


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Lesser Poland » Kraków
August 28th 2007
Published: August 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Dzien dobry Everyone!

After a less than comfortable 8 hour night train from Prague I made it to Krakow very early today. Luckily I was able to check it at my pension the luxurious Trzykafki Guest House, the best accommodation in Krakow for under $30 dollars/night. It is a 15 minutes walk to the old town center and even though the mattress has seen better days and the linen a bit threadbare (relics of the communist era), I'm very satisfied with my choice in lodging. It is impeccably clean and has none of the peculiar aroma so common in hostels.
I spent most of the day lingering and sight seeing in the old center. Krakow is unique amongst Polish cities in that it was spared the devastation of World War II. It was also the old capital and has many monuments special to the Polish people and their history. One of the main attractions is the main market square, Rynek Glowny. When compared to Prague's main square, it can seem a little shabby. The buildings do not have that freshly scrubbed candy colors of Prague and the restaurants/ cafes not as fancy. Even the tourists are mostly Polish or European. I loved all of it (even the hordes of pigeons), some how the imperfections make the place more endearing.
I have some interesting experiences to share including my first time at a "milk bar". Unfortunately I have to turn in early because I'm headed to Auschwitz tomorrow morning. Thanks to everyone who has been sending me messages and e-mails. Keep 'em coming, it helps with the home sickness.

Garret


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0277s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb