Auschwitz, Poland


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Lesser Poland » Auschwitz
July 26th 2009
Published: August 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

When we left warsaw, Tomek told us that it was better to drive South for a couple hours then go NE to go to Berlin as the roads were much better and no construction. He recommended spending a couple hours in Wroclaw on the way. However, when daddy was driving he realized that it would be less than 30 minutes out of the way to go to Auschwitz and he thought this was better than stopping in a city for a few hours.

Daddy tried to explain to me about Auschwitz. He told me about a very bad person named Hitler who lived a long time ago and hated a lot of people. Hitler, and people who worked for him, hurt and killed many people for no good reason. I kept asking why, and the only answer daddy came up with is that Hitler did not like people who were different. He told me that the place we were at was one of the places Hitler had killed many people. He told me that we have to keep the people in our heart, and I liked that.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



13th August 2009

I have been to Auschwitz, but your pictures affected me all over again. It is chilling to know that members of my family walked on that ground and died there. My generation is lucky, and we only hope that your daddy's generation and your generation will be safe.

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0599s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb