Oswiecim


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Lesser Poland » Auschwitz
April 5th 2009
Published: April 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Entry to Auschwitz 1Entry to Auschwitz 1Entry to Auschwitz 1

The Slogan at the front of Auschwitz "Work hard and you'll be free". More Nazi lies basically.
Oswiecim is a name not many people know, but it is the actual name of the place where the infamous nazi death camps, Auschwitz, Monowitz and Birkenau are located.

It started as a POW camp in April 1940, but due to its location and other reasons, it evovled with the assistance of nazi efficiency to murder, slaughter, kill, exterminate jewish people and other people viewed as undesirable.

Between all three camps between 1.1 million people and 2 million people were subjected to hard labour, starvation and then the gas chambers to solve what hitler called "the answer to the jewish problem". Roughly the current population of Western Australia.

The one of the most disturbing facts - is the sheer size of the Birkenau camp. A photo which I will post later from one at the entrance and one about 3 quarters of the way to the back of the camp - will still not be able to convey the size. Massive just does not do it justice.

Another one is that train line that came to the camp, literally drop off the people 300 metres from the gas chambers - usually a selection process would take place
TearsTearsTears

Jewish teenagers are brought to Auschwitz. They wear the Israeli Flag, the Star of David, as a cape (much like Aussies do on Anzac and Aust Day). The sense of loss and mourning - I still can not fathom.
and usually at least 75% of the arrivees would be sent to their deaths. When the camp was full no such selection process was taken and all were marched to the death - under the guise that they were taking a shower.

Up until I arrived here - I don't think I fully understood the term of genocide. May any and all who were involved in that - burn in hell for eternity.

It reminds me of a train trip I took in Feb 2004 to manchester. On the way there I started talking to a old man who was sitting across from me. After a few hours he told me that he had been in the sea rescue in the english channel during WWII and he retold some stories. We started talking about Churchill and Hitler and I made the mistake (I only really relise now completely - my utter stupidity) of comparing Churchill to Hitler, commenting on their public speaking skills and how each galvanised their nation. Which notably upset the man and he took great offence. For Hitler should not be compared to anyone, what he conceived was evil, far to evil.




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Bikneau EntranceBikneau Entrance
Bikneau Entrance

This is the oneway railway entrance to Birkneau (Auschwitz's big brother). It is here where most of the people died. The sheer scale of this place is immense.
The Sheer SizeThe Sheer Size
The Sheer Size

I took this photo about 3/4 toward the back of the camp I have put a mark above the entrance in the proceeding photo. I am trying to convey the size. But I don't think it will do it justice.


Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb