Very serious indeed


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Greater Poland » Poznan
September 6th 2009
Published: September 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Looking for foodLooking for foodLooking for food

My camping place in the forest overlooking a small lake
In the forest near Poznan, 25-07-2001.

With only four hundert kilometers to Belin and five days of holiday left, there is no reason to hurry, no particular moment of doubt about the end of this trip. I can take the back roads through the dark green pine forests so abundant in Northern Poland. Maybe even cycle the remaining six hundert kilometers from Berlin to Amsterdam instead of using my return ticket by train.

Would certainly improve my status as a super-wanderer among my alley-cat - bicycle messenger in Amsterdam speak - amigos back home. Not really the way I see it though...just enjoy being in motion, enjoy experiencing new emotions, discovering the newness of things, meeting new people - not all of them nice but then neither am I.

New cultures and traditions change the moment I cross the border!! Not like the inside of an Amsterdam coffeeshop after a whole day of rushing through traffic congested Amsterdam delivering packets soaked by early spring rain, where cultures and nationalities the world over rub shoulders but are lost in Purple Haze and the Notorious Holland Skunk, Mary-Jane in her ivy-green form aka Marijuana in its legal state...

Out
Owl on the huntOwl on the huntOwl on the hunt

just before night fall
here that scĂȘne seems like an eternity away when I look into the rumy old eyes of the of the diner's cook pushing a plate with a fatty looking Giro and stale bread along the counter, my belly having a serious problem with the fatso's long dirt stained fingernails...out here life is more intence, more serious in its foundations...

Life was very serious for that poor mouse that just mere kilometers behind me got swept into total oblivion by the razor sharp blades of a lucky bussart on the hunt.

Life is very serious too for those poor Ladies of the Night I met last winter in Thailand and whose images and life stories I so desperately tried to capture in my sketchbooks...

Life is gonna be very serious for me when I decide to cycle all the way back which basically means one week late for the job. No job, no money which means no honey as my Thai lady-friends would say...plain and simple, no rent, no house, very serious indeed...yeah lets cycle back to Amsterdam.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 17; qc: 77; dbt: 0.079s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb