Searching the Past


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway
July 8th 2013
Published: June 29th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 78.21, 15.61

Our last day in Svalbard. Today would be a twofold exploration of the past. Part One was a fossil hunting expedition on the arctic tundra. Ours was a small group, both our guide and the other couple, hailing from Copenhagen. The other important member of todays group was a friendly and energetic husky named Kinda. We set off on foot, north of our guesthouse, in the same direction as our previous glacier hike. However today, once across the river, rather than go left up the mountain we headed up into a valley to our right. Beyond some collapsed mine shafts, up a snowy incline, we soon arrived at todays destination, our hunting grounds at the base of another glacier. We each took turns walking our guide dog Kinda, or rather, having him walk us. He certainly came in handy on the snowy hillside, his excitability helping drag me quickly to the top.
Once at the fossil rich area, we were each issued with protective glasses and a rock hammer.
We had about an hour or two to wander the area, digging for treasure. We were recommended to target three locations; the riverside, the mountain base and edge of the nearby glacier. It took Natalie just minutes to find the days best find. A plant fossil by the river, the imprints of leaves etched into black stone. We found a few, I clawed out my best finds from under the glacier ice. A large black rock with leaves and twigs fossiled into it. The fossils we found were likely between 30 and 100 million years old! Whats more, is we were allowed to keep our findings. I took Kinda, and we turned to head back to town. Coming down the snowy slope, I lost my footing and got a nice soaking sliding into some slush. Just before getting back, we found a rotting reindeer skeleton in a bog. With time to spare we waded out over the moss for a closer look. Bits of fur still clung to the flesh, the deer likely having died just days ago. It had likely provided a fine feast for the arctic foxes in the area as not much remained.
We returned to our hotel for lunch, left over pizza and chips. From there we headed off for part two of our exploration of the past.
Since we arrived, Id had my eye on the large mine overlooking our lodge. It sparked my curiosity, its location, its state, its history. Id been planning to climb the mountain and explore, and now was the time. Nat was indifferent, but decided to come along. This mine, mine number two, was known as the Santa Klaus mine. During its function, it was lit with bright lights, and children's letters to Santa were received at the mines base. This was long ago now. It was built in the early 1900s, fit with a archaic wooden cable car system. In the second world war, apparently it was hit by a German bomb and burned for twenty years. It has laid in ruin since. Untouched, undisturbed. The climb was steep and taxing. It didn't take too long, twenty minutes later we were at its base. Nat sort of lingered a bit behind as I explored. I climbed higher to the main building, carefully and cautiously squirming by a snow filled cabin, shimmying along a rickety boardwalk and over rubble to a little open doorway. Inside, I came to a grand opening at the main mine shaft. A rickety wooden stair descended into darkness and mine tracks did likewise, deep into the mountain. A warning sign advised not to proceed with a risk of rock slide, collapse or explosion. With such a lack of light and being alone I decided to return. I spent a couple minutes exploring the area, looking at the shaft and old equipment before going outside to find Nat. A seat here offered us a fine view of the city and Longyearbyen. Before heading down, I decided to climb the last incline to the top cabin before returning. Nat said she wait here for my return. It was a slippy climb over loose black and gravel. In the top cabin was the mining wheel mechanism, and above that, the upper most point and best view. From my current point I decided it would be much easier to go around and descend rather than backtrack. I called out to Nat and told her to meet me back at the front where we started. It was slow going getting down a rubble of rocks, so I kept calling to Nat on the way. When I reached the front of the mine, no Nat. I rushed back to the spot where she was waiting, no Nat. I called out, again and again. Nothing, just light rain, the sound of wind rustling by and gulls cackling on the mountaintop. For ten, fifteen minutes I patrolled, looking, calling, fighting off fears of what may have happened. Had she fallen? Gone back? Come looking for me? Gotten lost somewhere? I was filled with frustration, regret and concern. Relief swept me when the sight of her red coat walked out below me at the mine front. We had both feared the worst. When I had shouted to go back to the start, Nat had thought Id said Id gone into the mine, and come looking for me. She had heard my voice a couple times and basically followed my route. Relieved we headed back to the lodge to prepare one last walk to town and back. We stopped at the post office and supermarket for souvenirs and supplies for dinner.
Our last meal was at the lodge, pork fillets with vegetables and our expired cask of red wine on the side. We turned in for a nap around 9. Our alarm was set for 2am. We would be catching a 2.30 coach to the airport for a 4.10 Norwegian flight to Oslo.


Additional photos below
Photos: 44, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Glacier side Fossil hunting spotGlacier side Fossil hunting spot
Glacier side Fossil hunting spot

Fossil hunting territory
Native Edible PlantNative Edible Plant
Native Edible Plant

Tastes like Granny Smith Apples
Svalbard mysterySvalbard mystery
Svalbard mystery

How did this get here in the middle of nowhere


Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0286s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb