Haugesund, Norway


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway
July 25th 2019
Published: July 25th 2019
Edit Blog Post

What day is it? This is when I know I’m relaxed and living in the moment. I can’t remember, but I think it might be a Thursday. Of course, I could be wrong. If it’s Thursday it must be….Oh, who knows. Haugesund, Norway. It is in fact Thursday. All is well with the world.

No unwanted calls, no unwanted knocks at the door, we slept in. Dreamily in bed, caught between deep sleep and a gentle wakefulness, the ship rumbling and rocking engines roaring first one rumble then an equally loud rumble in what could only be interpreted as another direction. We must be in port. It felt to me as if we were experiencing a minor earthquake-in fact it was this “earthquake” which finally drew me out of dreamland and into the present, that and the gentle tinkling of the Perrier bottles on the tray. Christopher got up indicating he didn’t need that bottle alarm clock any longer. I guess it was a little unnerving and annoying for us both. It was annoying, I just didn’t want to deal with it.

Too late for breakfast. No big deal. We shall forgo the egg and other protein morning meal for something a little more continental. Up to Baristas it is – Deck 14 Aft. Almost directly above us (by two decks). No – there is NO deck 13. Must be bad luck.

Haugesund, another seaport, another resort town, the former seat of government under Viking King Harald the Fairhaired (that was a long, LONG time ago).

We got ourselves presentable, drank our breakfast inhaled a pastry or two or three and took the Marina Shuttle into town. Good think we didn’t walk – it is a hike and a half! Yesterday my right foot, still healing from a triple 5th metatarsal break 10 weeks ago, was twice the size of my left foot, so an easy day of walking and absolutely NO heroics! I willing ablige.

Town was charming – I know – I’ve used that word a lot here – but it is the absolute truth. There truly is no other word. The people are so lovely. Happy, friendly easy to communicate with – they start in Norwegian and when you look at them like they’ve swallowed a mouthful of marbles, they revert to English. Thank goodness.

In our hast to pack, we omitted some key items…now I KNOW I’m going to get some heat about this – but skincare is important! I learned this years ago from Miss KT – clean and moisturize. My students used to say I looked 20 years younger than they thought (OK…maybe 15). So, in town we found a store which carries a brand with which we are quite familiar and purchased an eye cream. The saleswoman was quite kind. She showed us the 2 eye creams they stocked and said one is the basic and the other, in a hesitating voice is for those over 30. Her face went deep crimson as she said this. We both readily admitted to being over 30 and it was nothing to worry about. We selected the “over 30” cream and shall nourish the ancient skin around our eyes immediately.

We wandered about town a bit more. Missed the Marilyn Monroe statue (really?) and called time. We hiked back up the gentle rise of the street to our meeting point in front of the church for a ride back to the ship.

Once again on board, I emptied the ice bucket into a Ziploc bag (I shall be icing my foot/ankle with greater frequency). We both got into bathing suits and headed of to deck 12 (just above us) for a day by the pool. We don’t “do the sun” so in the shade we find two empty chaises. Then we realize we should probably eat something before we waste away to nothing (like that would EVER happen). So I ordered a Cuban & Christopher ordered a Reuben. When they arrived, our server asked who ordered the Cuban – I identified myself and he placed what I thought was the Cuban before me. I took one bite and switched with Christopher. Reuben. By that time French fries were eaten from the Cuban sandwich….RUINED. Lunch was RUINED. No – not really, just a little drama for affect. Given what occurred at the next table.

A family (?) of five – two teenage girls with angst to spare, a boy – perhaps on the scale – but unsure – and two women (sisters? Wives? Unclear). One was very touchy feely the other wanted NOTHING to do with the Children. Help me here…I’m at a loss. ANYWAY….according to “Jasmine” (names are changed because I can’t remember them) there is ABSOLUTELY nothing to eat….as she throws herself down in her chair (um…gurl…really…a buffet for days is just through the door to your left). The table rocked, “Mother” in her calm manner, now Jasmine; we don’t throw ourselves in our seats like that. I could JUST hear Gino and Amy using that voice and language with us at that age…NOT! My mother would have removed us IMMEDIATELY from prying eyes and any witnesses. As said – god HELP you if you didn’t respond to their whistle, call or any other signal indicating time was up….for if you didn’t…there was no one else to assist you! Only divine intervention.

Anyway…Jasmine in full mode throws her head on the table – hair everywhere- on the table (UH…NO). Sister sitting to her right on her phone throws her sisters hair from her place and well….downhill from there. The poor boy just wanted to eat his lunch but couldn’t because two items on the plate were touching (I had true feelings of pity for woman #2…she couldn’t get out of there fast enough…she tried explaining to calm woman #1 that she SPECIFICALLY ordered the meal as it was supposed to arrive). Going downhill FASTER & FASTER – and picking up speed. Boy’s meal sent back. Jasmine on her phone pouting and playing some kind of video at the table…. “JASMINE, we don’t play video games at the table, time to put that away”…game gets louder…(she’s testing you honey…how far before you break?)…Jasmine, honey – please put your phone away. This goes on for a about 3 or 4minutes before calm Mom begins to lose her cool and it turns into “JASMINE. PHONE. NOW” and the phone is silenced – FINALLY I think to myself. I could JUST see my dad with the hair on the table. Uh…NO! I have a few quirks (Hey…leave me alone) one is I have to wash my hands after petting an animal – ANY animal. Immediately. The other is hair. We were brought up in a house where hair and food never mixed. I remember my sister brushing her hair and walking through the kitchen…Dad pitched a fit. That never happened again. He went on to explain how dirty hair is (his parents had restaurants, and my grandmother almost always wore a hair net). Acorn…tree! SO – don’t be surprised if I ask you to remove your hat from a table or anywhere food is served (in my presence). It just makes my stomach turn. Sorry/not sorry.

SO…the drama continues as we finish lunch and I ask if Christopher is done (PLEASE be done…I can’t with this family). We flee the table and back to our shaded chaise by the pool for a little R&R: reading and relaxing.

I’m reading The Wife (so far EXCELLENT); Christopher is finishing up And The Sea Will Tell (an older book – but I like crime and true crime books). I started to get a little chilled (even though the sun was strong and the breeze almost nothing) – so into the steam room to warm my bones. It always feels so GOOD to just relax in a steam room. Sweat it out.

Back to reading, a Mai Tai and a chapter or so later and it was time to go back to the room before dinner.

We have reservations tonight at Red Ginger! So. Happy. I know what I’m getting…Crispy Duck & Watermelon Salad, and Miso glazed Sea Bass. Double YUM! We arrive on time…restaurant is still closed. Um…huh?? WAIT. Christopher is starting to get rebellious…I’m ready to lead a rebellion if this place doesn’t open soon…who is with me? The restaurant finally opened….3 or so minutes late. A fairly long line had formed. Should I mention we were at the head of the line, because some snobby woman said she didn’t want to be first. To hell with that! For tonight’s meal, we brought an Antica Rose of Pinot Noir, 2018. SO. GOOD! Perfect pairing with our meal. We opened the menu and saw “to share”…hmmmm perhaps….SO…why not. Along with our other favorites, we ordered the platter to share (finished it). We done good! Dessert….we each had a steamed Ginger cake with Cardamom Ice Cream. Oh. So. Good. Finished the bottle of wine. We rolled out of Red Ginger about 8:30 and needed to take a stroll.

We went up to Deck 14 and took a stroll around the deck. The water was as smooth as glass. The only wind was created by the ship cutting through the atmosphere. The waves gently fell away from the ship as she glided through the sea towards FLAM. So smooth – it felt as though we were not moving at all. We walked up to 15; first aft…and way, WAY off in the distance saw what looked to us both as smoke from a fire. We noticed a Crew Member (from the bridge) taking pictures with his camera of the smoke. Hmmm. What is burning? Where is it burning? I seriously doubt the smoke from the fires in Portugal can be seen from way up here…but stranger things. Must keep our eyes open for any news. Sad if it is a nasty blaze up this way. Given the heat in some parts of the continent, I’m not surprised.

Deck walk done. Off to Horizons for a view to the future. It really feels as if we aren’t moving. UM. Are. We. Moving? UM…not again! NOPE. Just moving V E R Y slowly. If I’m not mistaken, Flam is not far from where we were today – we left port around 7pm, so they aren’t speeding off to arrive anytime soon.

So back to the room and writing. Christopher is reading (perhaps about Flam) or his book – or both? We shall endeavor to rise early so we can maximize our day in Flam. Greetings and salutations from gorgeous Norway. Until later.

Advertisement



31st July 2019

Hair on Table
Ew, ugh! And I’m ALWAYS telling MOG not to put his ball cap on the table OR counter. I’m with you, kid!

Tot: 0.261s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0561s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb