Busted


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway
July 23rd 2019
Published: July 23rd 2019
Edit Blog Post

Our last day in Norway got off to a rather difficult start. While at breakfast this morning I observed “something” which put me in a “mood” and, unfortunately, sent me down a deep dark path from which I fear took most of the day to recover.

The situation started with us trying to locate a table. This morning was CHAOS at the hotel. The Breakfast room was completely “sold-out” as in – no available tables in this HUGE room. No, this is a seriously LARGE breakfast room. We finally located a table at the very back of the room not far from the practically unused service counter (a clear advantage for those of us in the way, WAY back). This particular station has the espresso machine, a juice counter and the water spigot (still and sparkling). There were two children (I’m guessing about 10 or 12) getting water for themselves - they were each filling a bottle which clearly had held water previously – so these boys (brothers) were being environmentally conscientious. Behind the boys was an American Woman, of a certain age, dressed in a turquoise top who was CLEARLY agitated that she had to wait to get her water. The boys were NOT playing, they were courteous of everyone else, they were two boys filling their bottles. The woman, growing ever impatient finally snapped and said “hey, you, this isn’t a game - you can’t fill all those bottles” (I remind you – there were 2 SMALL bottles – not even a liter each). After she snapped, their father came over to check as the boys cowered away. Their mother looked ready to strike (mamma bear protecting her cubs). Well…wouldn’t you know…the woman in turquoise pulled out her 1 liter bottle to fill it up! WTF! She literally shamed these two kids out of line so she could get her water! I was speechless as I watched. I said nothing-which I regret. The boys father said nothing. The boys mother was ready to cut the woman in turquoise. She bullied a 10 year old and an 12 year old – because she didn’t want to wait another second to get her water. OH….did I mention these boys were mixed race? Dad is white, mom is Asian. I was so disturbed. I was convinced by this woman’s actions and her subsequent behavior, that she had a bias against these children. May I remind you…THEY. WERE. KIDS…and VERY well behaved! Lady….you don’t talk to kids like that – you MAY talk to adults like that, but not children- unless they are your own!

So – breakfast started off on a wrong note and quickly went down hill. All week I’ve been meaning to get a soft boiled egg…never had one, wanted to try. SO….today is the last time I can try here at the hotel. I go to the spot for the soft boiled eggs, read the sign – YUP – I’m in the right place. Select my egg and eggcup, get my pancakes, wait patiently for my butter and strawberry jam (OMFG – SO GOOD) and head back to the table. I proudly put the egg in the cup, crack the top and start to peel. Seriously? This is a PAIN in the ass. Finally get the top peeled off, dip in the spoon….AND…FREAKING HARD BOILED EGG! Some damned fool put the egg in the wrong place- or perhaps the evil woman in turquoise changed the menu signs. I was SO disappointed. I just gave up. Surrendered to the fates and went back to the room to brush my teeth and forget about breakfast. I. Was. Done.

Travel days, for me, are always a little stressful – I get NUTS when things go wrong or if people do, to my mind, STUPID STUFF. Like bringing water in line when going through Security – SERIOUSLY? How many times do you fly? I have absolutely NO patience for stupid – or incompetence. I know. I KNOW. It’s my issue and I need to let it go, BUT…really people? How hard is it to follow directions? Seriously?!

SO…we get to the port and are ready to check in for the cruise. So far so good. No issues…YET. THEN…it happens.

We get called to check in. We get on line and the adorable, friendly woman directing “traffic” is QUITE social chatting everyone up. She gets corrected by the Oceania staff because she was “stacking” people at the stations. SO, she backs off and gets even MORE social. Unfortunately, she’s SO BUSY chatting, she fails to direct those of us on line and ready to check in to open spots. She was in front of us, so we couldn’t move. People in other lines were just stepping up (when it was NOT their turn) to check in (minor, I know…I KNOW). REALLY, I know. BUT…you have one job! Direct traffic flow. DO. YOUR. JOB. SO, I made a comment that the woman behind her is telling us to go, and she says no. I didn’t like that response and grumbled that the woman is telling us to move up and sign in – she looked over her shoulder and sees the woman directing us. She says please wait, I will direct you, is there a problem? OK. That would be YES. So then I said I love that you are interacting with us all and being sociable, I really do, but we are still standing here and we’ve been called up more than once and you haven’t let us pass. We just want to check in. She said, you’ll get on board don’t worry (NO. SHE REALLY DID). NOT the right thing to say to me. I kept my mouth shut (a first) – Christopher, ever the patient one said let it go. I was still FUMING about breakfast and NOW…fuming about this woman – who clearly wants to be happy and sociable and I’m behaving like Turquoise Woman! I was hating myself. In my defense – not that there is one. I’m not one of those social people when at work. Get the job done. Focus. Keep them moving. Smile, be friendly- not TOO friendly – and GET. IT. DONE. Don’t keep people waiting unnecessarily.

I spent the better part of the day beating myself up and thinking how I may have ruined her day. Oh Well, turquoise woman strikes again. I have truly tried to process this and think it through. When I’m at work, I believe in getting it done ASAP. Why put it off? Do your job!

After we checked in – we had to clear customs. SO, when we arrive in Europe, we typically use our EU Passports, because it takes a second as opposed to 30 minutes for us to clear customs. WELL….since we have to use our US passport, which is on file at Oceania, we ran into a “situation”. Our US passports had not been stamped, there was no record of us entering the EU. SO, he started the interrogation. We immediately let him know we both are dual citizens, and entered on our EU passport. OH, no problem. We presented our EU Passports and boom. We were done!

We got on board and waited for our room to be ready. Christopher and I decompressed, we discussed my “interaction” and I was encouraged – once again – to let it go. But, ya see – I have to understand what’s going on before I can let it go. I need to work it through – SO…it doesn’t happen again. OR – handle it better. That’s how I process things. So, I worked it through – and I’m letting it go. It’s a process! And I’m still a work in progress.

Our stateroom is wonderful. Larger than our hotel room in Oslo, and MUCH cleaner. I swear the carpets were NEVER vacuumed. Guarantee it! We unpacked, arranged everything to our particular liking. We met our Butler and our Stateroom Attendant – both are so very professional. They get it!! (wink, wink). They changed our pillows (we both are allergic to feathers…something they couldn’t do at the Radisson). They changed our toiletries from Blue Tea to Green Tea (Bulgari fragrance). We were provided a bottle of Champagne and some canapes- ate the canapes, and will most definitely sip the champagne. Just not now.

We took our traditional walk around the ship. Went to the spa and met with Savo – a massage therapist. Christopher now has a massage for tomorrow and I’m going to have a Men’s facial at the same time. I’m SURE I too shall get a massage at some point. We’re on the ship for 3 weeks.

We went to the Spa Deck to sit in the hot tub and read before the mandatory Muster Drill at 5:15. Sat out on the deck for an hour, read, sat in the salt hot tub and just let the day melt away (well…mostly). New security protocol – we don’t have to bring our live vests…YES!!! So cumbersome. Went to Martini’s – our muster station (how convenient) and waited for the safety demonstration. While waiting we met a very nice couple from the Boston area. Their first cruise. They seem quite nice.

Dinner tonight at Toscana. Naturally, we both started with the Sformatino of Artichoke (SO. DARN. GOOD) and Christopher had a breaded pounded pork chop (enough for a family of four) and I had Filet Mignon – perfect size. Since we brought a case of wine with us, we selected an Antica Sangiovese for tonight’s meal. It was a perfect pairing. We offered a splash to our “Sommelier” he was most appreciative. Dessert was Panna Cotta for me (the sauce was WAY too sweet for my taste, and Christopher had the Cannolo). We finished our meal with a Grappa each.

After dinner we walked down to deck 5 and went to the stores. Nothing. I mean NOTHING caught our eye. Back to the room and time to unwind some more.

Advertisement



23rd July 2019

Great reminder!
I’ve made a mental note to remember the passport protocol, so that I am not similarly “busted” on future trips! Still working on getting my EU passport, but plan to set those wheels in motion soon! Thanks for the heads up!!
24th July 2019

LOVED Today’s Blog Entry: BUSTED
I can SO relate to everything you experienced and how you felt about it. Big hugs to you and Christopher ??

Tot: 0.185s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0505s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb