This is crazy!!!!


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Eastern Norway » Lillehammer
June 27th 2006
Published: June 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

01 Scenery01 Scenery01 Scenery

Some of the scenery along the way.
Geo: 61.3278, 10.4034

After a few hours of driving, we arrived at Lillehammer for a ride in a bobsled on an Olympic course. A mini-van drove us to the top of the hill. There were four of us in each bob sled, which has been modified for use in summer- as there is no snow here now. In my bob sled there was, Nat, Tim, Trix and I. We went in bob sleds as teams to earn points. We put our heavy helmets on and got in. I was a bit scared. We were in safe hands. Apparently our driver has never crashed or gone off the tracks. The track is 1.7km long and 110 metres high. We travelled at about 120 kms an hour with a g-force of 4.5 and finished in about 60 seconds. A few guys pushed us to get us going, at first it wasn't to bad, then it was really fast. I kept hitting my head on the cage, side to side and above- good thing for the cage, of we would have all fallen out! All that I could think on the way down was that this is crazy!!! What am I doing!! At the same
02 Looking silly02 Looking silly02 Looking silly

This is me at the end. We are pretending to ski.
time it was also fun. For half the way down I had my eyes closed. It certainly got my heart pumping. It was a great experience to have done it on an Olypimc bob sled course. Our team had the second fastest speed. I am now going to have a sore nexk for a few days!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

03 Pine trees03 Pine trees
03 Pine trees

Some of the many pine trees we have seen.
04 The track04 The track
04 The track

Looks like we will be going side wards on this part of the track!!
05 The track05 The track
05 The track

More of the winding track.
06 The start06 The start
06 The start

This is the start of the track- the way down!!
07 Bridge and I07 Bridge and I
07 Bridge and I

We are nearly ready, we took a few photos- a case of procrastination.
08 'Don't call me stupids'08 'Don't call me stupids'
08 'Don't call me stupids'

Go team, go!! My team for the viking olympics.
09 Ready to go09 Ready to go
09 Ready to go

Just before we took off.
10 A church10 A church
10 A church

This is a little church we stopped at.
11 Green grass11 Green grass
11 Green grass

View of the river and really green grass from the church grounds.


Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.031s; cc: 13; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0201s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb