Poking around in Hengelo


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands
October 6th 2006
Published: October 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

HengeloHengeloHengelo

Right outside the trainstation
So this morning I woke up and got ready to go to Hengelo to fix this passport problem with 2006 and 2007. Once again, no problemo on the train, and I found the politie station, the same woman was there and she fixed it in 10 minutes. Since it was later than when I was first in Hengelo, more stores were open so I poked around in some neat shops. I went into Xenos, one of my favorite stores, and bought a really cheap umbrella. I figure, if I spend 2.99E on an umbrella versus 7.99E on an umbrella, the wind is going to kill both of them either way. So I opted for a cheap blue umbrella with white polka dots.

I didn't have time for breakfast, so I stopped at Bakkerij Bart (the bakery where I got a chocolate croissant the first time) and looked at the options. I wanted to try something new, so I saw something called "Appelflap." Hm...I know that "Appel" means apple, so it must be an apple tart or something. I was so proud of myself when I ordered it all in Dutch and even ended the conversation with "Doo Doei!" which is
Bikeloaf, anyone?Bikeloaf, anyone?Bikeloaf, anyone?

An artist put this together from bikes that were broken or confiscated because they were locked illegally. Good to keep in mind...
like "bye bye". =) go me.

I'm still on the hunt for some nice boots - there's so many to choose from, but I'm hesitating because new boots come out every week and the prices change on all of them. I'll wait until the pair I want find me, perhaps.

As I was walking around Hengelo, I noticed a familiar thing probably also happening in stores back home: Christmas merchandise already on the shelves. That's right, I can't escape those snowglobes and smiling Sinterklaas' in October. Although the Dutch don't celebrate halloween, stores still sell the halloween decorations - spiders, purple cats with fangs (I never understood the purple cats. I understand black cats, but the purple ones are supposed to be friendlier? Who knows, maybe it's thanks to Lisa Frank), bats, ghosts, witches, and lots of pumpkins.

xoxo


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Up closeUp close
Up close

It's pretty cool up close and this also serves as a cool desktop wallpaper. I like how some bikes still have locks on their wheels
Church clocktowerChurch clocktower
Church clocktower

A good way to orient myself when in the town, I can get so turned around sometimes!
Shalom!Shalom!
Shalom!

Looks like a welcoming "eetenhuis" = restaurant. I might have to see what it's all about
Another tower or steepleAnother tower or steeple
Another tower or steeple

This one made a nice melodic sound when it was 12 noon. Hengelo's center is completely made out of cobblestones which are cool now. I wonder how they'll be with ice...
Back to Enschede!Back to Enschede!
Back to Enschede!

The station has nice stained glass which lightens the place up a bit. Trains here are so easy to take - the sign is very clear - even someone like me can figure it out! =)


Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0632s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb