Jetlagged to the max!


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands
March 1st 2006
Published: April 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

We were able to collect our bags and get through customs straight away, but when we walked through the gates there was no one there to pick us up. Lenny was supposed to pick us up, and she is never late, so we weren't sure what the problem would be.
Luckily for us inferior mono-linguals nearly all Dutch people speak English, so changing a note for some coins wasn't a problem. Lenny didn't answer the phone, but Joyce did, and it seemed that Lenny had left earlier to come and pick us up.
We heard that the weather was bad on the roads, and this proved to be the reason for the hold up. Beck finally spotted Lenny and Ineke, along with the two girls Ilse and Lisa, which was a relief. They had been in the car for a couple of hours, so we went and had coffee and hot chocolates before we headed back to Lenny's.
I was in the car with Lenny and the two girls, who after a quiet and shy start, grew in confidence with their English skills, Ilse in particular. I learnt a few Dutch words and phrases, and I'm determined to learn as much as I can, but I'm afraid the one's I've learnt might not stick because I'm so wired from lack of sleep.
Back at Lenny's, Joyce and Misha were also there to greet us, and are also staying at Lenny's for the week. After having a bit of lunch, I could barely hold my eyes open, let alone hold a conversation. This must have been obvious to the others who let me retire, much to the disappointment of the girls who were taking great pleasure in tormenting me via tickles and pokes.
We slept until five when Lenny woke us up to have dinner. I think I felt worse after the sleep, but after dinner and losing many a game of cards, it was back to sleep again.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.018s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb