Netherlands!!


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » South Holland » The Hague
July 2nd 2008
Published: July 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Helloo!
I finally made my way out to the Netherlands last night after my week in Paris. Trains were delayed, but I still made it here at a reasonable time.. Met my friend Krittika (the one I'm staying with) at the train station, and then made our way over to her family's apartment. Was nice to finally settle in a real house for a bit rather than hostels/hotels!
Today we went into Den Haag (she lives in the suburbs of it) to see the Peace Palace and Maduroeam, this place that is basically the entirety of holland in the size of a football field or less. They place the entire country in a walk-through outdoor museum at 1/41th of the size of real life.. It was cool. As you can see, we took many photos with the oversized clogs they had haha. We were attempting to go sit in on courts in the ICTY where her mum works, but unfortunately afternoon court sessions were cancelled today, thus, we are planning on going back soon! Regardless, we got a nice cup o' tea in the UN before heading a few towns over. Made a stop in the town of Delft for a few hours. It was so cute! Typical Dutch town I guess. It's known for its blue and white handpainted ceramic pottery. Very lovely. After meandering around, we headed back to her house, had a wondeerrfulllll dinner of homemade indian food thanks to her mummy, and now are just hanging out due to our long eventful day! I'll try to update at least once more on my trip, but in 6 days, I'll be home again!! ahh This summers traveling went by so fast, but its been super fun..


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Photo 2Photo 2
Photo 2

Peace signs by the Peace Flame!
Photo 6Photo 6
Photo 6

they were so big we both could fit in comfortably hahaha
Photo 8Photo 8
Photo 8

Shhh... we weren't supposed to take these photos!! haha
Photo 10Photo 10
Photo 10

there was some promotional thing going on for a local university..I just thought those suits were amazingly tacky..and only something that orange would be worn in NL lol
Photo 11Photo 11
Photo 11

in Dutch: "I want only McCain!!" hahaha


Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb