Welcome to Amsterdam and Haarlem father dearest!


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Haarlem
October 30th 2008
Published: February 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

In the meantime of settling in, job searching/starting and accepting and going out with my boy I got the best present ever! My dad came! Oh it is the best present really when you have not seen your family for so long and then someone visits. I told dad this was better than any Christmas present. Dad flew in on 27 October. On the first day in Amsterdam on the 28 of October we spent walking around Amsterdam. Despite the long length I think dad enjoyed it. The 2nd day of dads expedition to the Netherlands we were in Amsterdam again, sight seeing and shopping for clothes for me! We even got a canal tour around Amsterdam which I enjoyed also haha it was different to the peddling boats.
Have a look at the pics:

http://picasaweb.google.com/dkruchkoff/AmsterdamWithDad20081029?authkey=iXL6NzfRLNs&feat=directlink

The next day we took it a bit easier and went to Haarlem. In Haarlem it was really nice. I liked this village and I could totally live here - though I wouldn’t call it a village id more call it a small city! Anyways we managed to visit the Teylers museum and the Frans Hals museum.

We took the train from Amsterdam Slotedijk to Harleem - it was 3.20e with my discount card per ticket.

The Teylers museum is named after the philanthropist-merchant Pieter Teyler van der Hulst, its the oldest museum in the Netherlands ! It contains an array of all these contraptions from the 18 century including an electrostatic machine. The interiors are pretty neat too they look really ancient I love it! Frans Hals on the other hand is more like an art museum for Dutch Masters. Its in an almshouse where Hals spent his final imporvished years. Its artists include obviously Frans Hals but also Carel van Mader
And have herring -dads for the first time in Holland he was hooked. We did the city walk and saw all the architecture. All in all I really enjoyed my day out in Haarlem.

Oh and I wrote Nadia a birthday message and a review of the Frans Hals museum: Excellent! A hidden jem in a jewel stack of three three encrusted jewels coated with honey and a lashing of malt standardised in a maintained and ignorant fashion.

Kindest Regards
DK
n.j.k.k.l

30/10/2008

Happy Birthday Nadzoo7 1/11/1965


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

HaarlemHaarlem
Haarlem

the Groete market
Potraet van Handrenia Eclasina Gretrudja Vinju-HPotraet van Handrenia Eclasina Gretrudja Vinju-H
Potraet van Handrenia Eclasina Gretrudja Vinju-H

By Jan Adam Cruiseman 19c. at Teylers Museum
KatjeKatje
Katje

1896 Henriette Ronner Knip at Teylers Museum
Seated Male NudeSeated Male Nude
Seated Male Nude

Michealangelo Buanorotti at Teylers Museum


Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0307s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb