Amsterdam Schmasterdam


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
September 20th 2006
Published: September 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

The train trip to Amsterdam goes quickly and before I know it I am there. I make my way down to the taxi line and hop in and head to my accommodation. I am not too far from the station but my fare still comes to 10 euros. Methinks that their meters must be on superfast because I took longer cab rides in Paris that cost half as much.

My room is the size of a shoe box but has a bed and cable tv so what more could you ask for! I set out to start exploring and right from the outset find myself getting lost. Although I have a map, the streets are labelled quite poorly or else I am just inept at map reading! I walk around for half an hour just trying to find a teller machine to get some cash. After that I head to Amsterdam Square (known as the Dam) to get some lunch and have a wander around. Amsterdam has a real market feel to the place.

To be blunt, Amsterdam did not really grab me. Anything remotely touristy was ages away from where I was staying and I was not willing to pay the exorbant cab fares. Nor was I willing to tackle the trams! I would have I think if someone else was with me, but it was something that I did not want to do on my own.

I go to a coffeeshop and try some local produce and head back for my hotel.

The next few days follow the same pattern. Get up at 0800ish and head downstairs for breakfast. Provided are scrambled eggs, baked beans, cereals, toast, fruit, brie and a selection of cold meats. I dawdle over breakfast enjoying the street scene in front of me, and have a few cups of coffee. Then I begin my sightseeing which takes hours longer than it should as I continue to get lost in the city (and that's literally lost!). I go to Anne Frank's house and Rembrandts house, which were both pretty interesting. I usually go to the Dam for lunch but find I head home quite early and recuperate with some herb and cable tv.

I actually couldn't wait to get to London and was counting down the days until I was leaving. Although probably totally unjustified, as a lone female traveller I felt a bit scared at times in Amsterdam. Travelling with someone else would more than likely have made all the difference, but yeah, it was not my cup of tea.

On my final day I head to the train station for my trip to London. I am going Ams- Brussells and then Brussell - Amsterdam all in one day. I have been using Eurostar vouchers as sold to me by me travel agent. Anyway a ticket inspector comes around and I show him my tickets as I have done on my two other train trips using these vouchers. He starts ranting at me that I do not even know how to use them properly, why purchase something if you do not read the instructions yada yada yada. I find myself getting properly annoyed and ask him how I can have successfully travelled through two other countries using the pass? He kind of avoids this and keeps going on, and asks for my passport which I hand over and he shakes his head, tuts and says "Australians!" He charges me12 euro to validate my ticket (which I believe was already done in london - I am going to definitely send a complaint letter). At this stage I cannot say another word to him as I know I am going to cry. Tears of anger mind you, I was just so furious but he chose to not comprehend what I was saying so I couldn't even get my point of view across. I suck back my tears as I know if I start I won't be able to stop and contemplate ways of getting revenge on the arrogant bastard!

So yeah goodbye Amsterdam, don't think I will be back for a very long time

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb