Day one recap.


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
June 14th 2006
Published: June 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone. I'm at an internet cafe at our hotel in Bagamoya, Tanzania. It's costing me 2$ for an hour of internet. I brought my laptop and we were thinking about paying for day access that way, but eh, I'm not sure now that I'm using the -wired- internet here at their cafe. Plus, it's 10$ a day!

Anyhow, we made it to Amsterdam a bit early, but only about 10 minutes. The flight wasn't bad, not too much turbulence, we didn't crash into the ocean, so all is good. We walked around the city for several hours (my pedometer clocked me at about 4 miles that day) and man were we all tired-- and HOT.

I had three 9$ jager's at the Memphis Int'l before we even left. I felt pretty good, but not so good after I got my bill! Things weren't much cheaper in A'dam. The kids bought a "gram" of weed for 7$ and smoked that at this bar where you had to buy it downstairs and smoke it upstairs. I didn't bother. But whatever floats their boats, I guess. I doubt it was 7$ good though!

We've flown about 9.5k miles thus far. And we'll still be flying to Arusha and then the trip home. I'm tired just thinking about it. Needless to say we were all very glad to be on the ground again, with no immediate flight planned.

One of our group, Lisa, had a bit of scare at the airport in A'dam. I'll write more about that later when I've the time and have had an opportunity to collect my thoughts.

For now, I guess this is it. I'll work on something for Bagamoya to post soon. But we are here, tired but safe.

Cheers!

P.S. Photos coming soon!

Advertisement



15th June 2006

I'm So Happy
I am so happy to hear you made it ok sweetheart! Just keep us posted whenever you can and enjoy yourself!!!
20th June 2006

Hey
Hey havent heard from you in a while wanted to make sure everything was going ok

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0285s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb