Amsterdamned


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
September 15th 2010
Published: September 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

After Berlin Liam and I headed to Amsterdam. Since we missed our train dude to a misunderstanding of what was the main train station in Berlin, we arrived in Amsterdam at around 10 am. We spent the night in the bicycle portion of the train which proved to be loads of fun. We met some scottish girls and I practiced my mandarin with a chinese woman. I was trying to explain what is a good bicycle to buy. I basically wrote out all of the main features she should have for a bike in the city. I got a bit carried away and she seemed quite overwhelmed by my advice. As we got off the train I took out my camera and started shooting from the hip, like a real pro. I forgot to check the setting so the first 50 or so photos came out completely useless. The first stop I made was visiting a coffee shop, which turned out totally bad-ass. We took a little while to find our hostel which was further than we originally thought. And we had a silly map, which was much too small. We approached an elderly woman to ask for directions and she informed us that our map was terrible and proceeded to pull out her own map which she gave to us after explaining which way to go. Eventually we found our way and checked in at the hostel, which was quite a crappy one. I think it was called Janson, and I do not recommend it. They had no lockers, so i was pissed. That night we went on a pub crawl which turned out to be very unexciting. Liam met someone from his home town of Huntington which was completely random. The next day we moved to a hostel called The Heart of Amsterdam, and we stayed in the Godfather room. This hostel was pretty sweet and we had a good view of the red light girls from our window. It was an 8 person room but we had it to ourselves. that night we went out and took a good look at some of the red light girls. Some girls were bigger than others. Some were older and some were younger, all in all it was pretty fun. I didn't like the overall feel of Amsterdam because I felt like it is just too commercial. Don't get me wrong, it is a lovely city, with great people but the central areas are filled with your typical mid twenties male tourist who came for the weed and the women. Gives classy individuals such as myself a bad reputation.


Additional photos below
Photos: 49, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



22nd September 2010

I love the "Canals" shot. Thanks for continuing to "blog." Its impresive that you have enough Mandarin to tell a lady what specifications to look for in a bike. I cant believe you are in India now. Cant wait to read those initial impressions.
23rd September 2010

To funny
hahah, I love your comment on Amsterdam and the red light district. It did sound like Amsterdam was loaded with 20ish men that are looking to get some weed and women. I agree very undesirable.
24th September 2010

mmhh
Looking at your pictures you missed the most beautifull parts of amsterdam..
28th September 2010
Goose-stepping Pup

I love your goose-stepping pup and don't lose your kids. I know it's not easy to get them just right...Well spotted.

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0629s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb