Wasting time and possibly money


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
September 17th 2009
Published: August 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

OK, I just deleted this entire post I was about to put on here, so now I have to rewrite it as my timed internet runs out. This is what the original message was supposed to say:

I am in the Amsterdam airport. With 5 hours of layover, there was not much to do except nap, eat, read, and go on the internet. I have already done the first three, and now I am spending 6 euro to write this post to you at an internet cafe. My plane over here from Detroit was a very smooth flight, but I did not sleep well. I feel exhausted at this point. My back also hurt tremendously. Who knows why I am turning into such a problematic person. Anyhoo, I have been here for some hours and this will be my last time that I am able to contact anyone until after I arrive in Leeds. Customs-willing, I will be there tonight (this afternoon on US time).

I say customs-willing because the regulation actually states that students who are studying in the UK for less than 6 months are not allowed to enter the country until 7 days before their classes begin. Because I was never told this information until after I purchased my plane ticket and after I was issued my visa, I am attempting to enter the country and basically ask if I can be the exception to the rule (as I am entering 11 days before classes begin). I have my letters in-hand, and although I am nervous, I have a plan. If this doesn't work, I will have to travel to some country for a few days to wait until the 7 day period opens up. However, I have necessary induction stuff that begins tomorrow, so while I am not allowed in the country, I need to be there. I know, I was confused about this, too.

But let me quickly tell you about the cool things that I have experienced on this trip. First, go to the Detroit airport if you haven't. There is a tunnel that connects Concourse A to Concourses B&C. This tunnel is underground, and it is light with purple, blue, turquoise, and red lights that flash to this awesome music. It's like you're in Wonderland or something. I sauntered through and took my time enjoying it all. I was in no rush. I had a 3 hour layover in that airport.

Now that I am in Amsterdam I have to say that the airport is not too exciting. The only thing that is above and beyond are these reclined chairs that they have ALL around the airport. They are in this wonderfully comfortable position for people to sleep on (I assume). Of course, when I discovered these, I just HAD to sit on them. Sure enough, with my backpack in my lap, I konked out for 40 minutes. I firmly believe all airports should have these guys. They really do miracles. Rochester, you can expect my petition for them.

Now it is my time to leave, since I am watching my time run out on this machine. If I hadn't had accidentally deleted my post before, I would have saved some money! Oh well, we will save the surfing until I get to a more permanent place.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.236s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb