The Day After (Day 58)


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
July 10th 2010
Published: July 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

dancedancedance

break dancing
Set my new record of three runs in a row after completing another lap around Vondellpark, one of my new favorite places. Ended up walking around town with another American I have hung out with a bit in Amsterdam. The streets still needed a little work after the mess that was made last night celebrating, especially the field where everyone was. That looked like a war zone. Also, it seemed like everyone was a bit hungover as many stores did not open till around 11 or 12 which is pretty weird on a Tuesday. Besides the walk around town and an awesome meal at an Italian restaurant (gorgonzola lasagna for 5 euro, steal!) I did not do too much today. I finally decided it was time to start researching volunteer opportunities in South America so I did that for a couple hours at the hostel and also put in some work on the blogs. I am now finally caught up so all 3 of my readers out there must be soooo excited. I'm struggling to remember any other interesting tidbits from the day. Mostly I was just catching up on stuff and waiting to depart for the train station as I
wcwcwc

world cup ready
had the overnight train to Copenhagen. I am not really sure how this train takes 15 hours since the distance isn't really that far. I'll never really understand how these things work.

Overall I really did like Amsterdam and it far surpassed my low expectations. I figured it would be full of American frat kids in the summer drawn to it my "we can smoke weed here bro!" but there really is much to the city than that. Im still in love with how everyone bikes around here and in such an orderly fashion. It makes the city feel like it's from another century. The people really can't be any kinder or more helpful as well and its cool to see the pride they have for their country as small as it is. My theory on their happiness is that they ride their bikes completely upright and not hunched over like we do going as fast as we can. They seem to be just enjoying their ride in a calm stately manner. Just a theory.

The overnight train was a great success. I was in a room with 6 (2 columns of 3) but my only company was
picpicpic

the 'dam
a family of 3 that embarked in Duisberg, Germany and I was also fast asleep by then. Pretty excited for Copenhagen. Have heard a lot of good things from people along the way and those opinions are must more trustworthy than any guide book. Anyways, I am just rambling so enough of that. Tomorrow's blog should be more interesting. (I should know since the events already happened).

Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0844s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb