Freaky-Deaky-Dutch (Day 57)


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
July 7th 2010
Published: July 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

hollandhollandholland

holland vs. uruguay in museum square
Started my day off with my second run in as many days (went last night as well). Not bad Matt. Figured I have one full day in Amsterdam so I'll see it the way the people do....on bike. Rented one for the afternoon and did a big lazy lap around the centre area. As popular as biking is here I think it may be just as confusing as driving a car here. Sure they have tons of bike lanes but some are one way, you got road lights just for bikes. It's pretty crazy. Plus there are so many of you it feels like an interstate at places.

As I said before the downtown area really is beautiful and just so peaceful no matter how many people are walking around. You never really get the feeling you are in a large popular city. Kind of a small town feel throughout. Checked out Dam Square, booked my night train to Copenhagen, explored the canals and ended up at the Anne Frank house which was one of the few places in the city I wanted to truly check out. Unfortunately there was a massive line outside and I was informed that is
anneanneanne

anne frank house
a pretty common sight. I couldn''t wait an hour or so to get in as I had to return the bike but perhaps I can go back tomorrow. We'll see.

Met up with a few guys from the hostel and we went out to get some food and beer and what not and prepare for tonight's match. Holland vs. Uruguay. Winner goes to the final. In the one large square right by our hotel they set-up a massive screen for a public viewing so we are going there along with pretty much everyone else in Amsterdam. And just like them I will be wearing oranje as I picked up my boy Wesley Sneidjer's jersey in a store nearby. So with that jersey and a 6 pack of Heineken I was disguised pretty nicely. When we finally got to the park it was sooo packed. Everyone was going nuts, wearing jerseys, orange vests, orange bathrobes and all types of crazy orange stuff. The dutch are fantastic. Just the nicest people too. Pretty sure the only way to upset one is to stand in the bike lane. That drives them nuts ha. Luckily for us, Holland won so the partying atmostphere
bikesbikesbikes

look at all those bikes!
continued on. The place was just going nuts after they won. Apparently someone bought a ton of toilet paper. So people were throwing hundreds of these rolls into the crowd like they were party streamers. Just wild. Spent our evening roaming around the bars and squares having a few beers with everyone else celebrating and yelling Hup Holland!" (Go Holland) and the like." Great great night here. Sorry to be leaving so soon.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

meme
me

he's having a good time
victoryvictory
victory

victory!
huphup
hup

hup holland


Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0657s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb