Arrived Alive


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
October 29th 2009
Published: October 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After a long couple of days I'm here and ready.

No trouble with the flights, got the exit row from st johns to new york, then a row of two seats to myself on the overnight. beef and potatoes for supper, no idea what flavor it was supposed to be. i actually slept for about 5 hours, when i woke up 'breakfast' (a puny croissant and 10 grapes) was already over but they left it on the seat next to me which was nice.

managed to get in to new york city for a few hours. caught the train from the airport to penn station. had a walk around midtown and saw the empire state and chrysler buildings... well most of them, it was showery, foggy and misty so the tops were in the clouds. very cool, but not too good for going up to have a look around from the top so i skipped that.

went to rockerfeller center and grand central station for a look around, but the dreary weather kinda ruined it for me, plus i had a headache since i didn't eat all day since early breakfast then had mcdonalds in times square hahaha idiot.

went back to the airport a bit early since i had seen everything within walking distance i wanted to and i didn't think i had time to go messing around with teh subway and such. 3 long hours in the airport later left on time.

got to frankfurt in the morning on time and caught the train into the city. dropped my big bag in a locker at the train station and went off to see frankfurt. sunny, 15 degrees. perfect weather. a bit of a boring city, but as i expected. headed down to teh Main (apparantly said MINE) River and walked over a few bridges. great views of the skyline, lots of tall buildings, very un-europe like. a few churches, some shopping areas, a market, fountains... nothing extraordinary. i went up in the Main Tower, 200m or so for a look around. Got the student discount too heh saved a whole euro and a half off €5.

then headed back to the train station to get my bag and head to Amsterdam. found my seat no trouble, had a row of 2 to myself, and had a great 2 hour nap. i usually don't sleep on trains or planes. good luck so far.

anyways got to amsterdam last night and just went for a little walk around. saw some drugs, some hookers, someone peeing in a canal, two people passed out on the sidewalk with their drunk friends poking and prodding them to get up. a zillion people around. love it here, just walking around and people watching. its always crowded but it does feel pretty seedy in places. i was tired though so i went to bed early. i don't think i'll do two short stops like this again, too long between lying down to sleep to do so much. my feet are killing me already, one blister.

probably going to head out to see some windmills this afternoon. that or an art museum but i'm not sure yet. we'll see how my feet feel about it all. off to berlin tomorrow afternoon. i'm using free internet at the library so i can't upload any pics but i'll try soon.

Advertisement



29th October 2009

Haha I love the comments on the seat availabilities next to you! Have fun!
30th October 2009

please.
Please, Amsterdam is much, much more than just sex sex & drugs. Open you're eyes, don't be a walking tourist-cliché
31st October 2009

Access to blog
Here I am now. Can't understand why Google kept telling me there was no such place! I'll be following along with you as you go Jason, looking forward to your commentaries and photos. Thanks, Nan
12th November 2009

15 degrees and sunny! *whine*
Okay I'm so behind but I'm going to see if I can catch up a big on your blogs. My family has been keeping me up to date on your happenings though - so I don't feel too left behind! :) I so want to go to Amsterdam - I'm so jealous!

Tot: 0.336s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0694s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb