licnese, isn't it on the back of the car?


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
June 21st 2008
Published: June 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Okay well lets see, I sat down here at this computer here in some cafe in Amsterdam and completely forgot what I was thinking. Lets just go over what I was doing prior to sitting down at my this cafe in Amsterdam and try to re count my steps. Ah okay can't seem to do that either. in fact I can't seem to remember where I am at. lets just think back at what I've been doin and then I'll remember where I am. Damn it I can't seem to do that. This brownie tastes funny. I do remember being back in Dublin, when was that? Some time and space, since forgot and morphed in my memory, seems like it could have been two days ago, perhaps another lifetime, no no that's not it either, I distinctly remember the taste of that wonderful glass of Guinness out of the storehouse sky bar, the way it seemed to cascade better than any porter ever before and was laced right there in front of me, my own, no one else could have my piece of my goodness my Guinness. And I remember the way we happened upon a local pub where everybody knows your name, in fact I truely believe that we walked into and stumbeled out of Cheers, The guys singing and laughing and ordering round after round on Guinness or Baileys, were all depicted in a painting on the wall, some unique characters these guys were, I remember that. Martin and Davie, Patrick, plastic jesus, plastic jesus, sittin on the dash board of my car. Ah the cliffs of Moher and the Burren such a desolate barren moon waste landscape. Limestone boulders magically places by glacial movement and deposited into one vast rocky shore. recall remember think dummy, how is it possible to forget Ireland the Blarney castle and the famous stone. Forget travel and sence stone forgot. forgotten stone. stoned forgetfullness.
Okay all joking aside I have to mention this. This is by far the most "it's a small world" senerio ever. We are in Tilburg, a medium sized city in the Nethelands hanging out with my friend Alison and her boy Tom. They take us to what they consider the cafe for Dutch. We go to this place called the Grass Company, order a few flares and take a seat preparing to order dinner. The menue is broken up into pages containing several dished from each course, salads, apps, main diner etc. Each course and printed item is ontop a picture of various locations around the world, japan, new york, london etc. And anyone from Durango will love this, the salad page was written over a picture of Durango colorado. If the photo were taken from the east side of main and college, and facing west at the mexican resturant (can't remember he name) with hogsback in the background. They changed the sign to say the Grass Company and the Shrader hotel to another name but how mind blown I was to see that, it's so unreal. I didn't have my camera but Alison promised to get a copy of the menue to me.

Sean wish you were here, you wish you were here.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb