Where in the world is Shannon Sandiego?


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
December 22nd 2007
Published: December 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

I realize it's pointless to ask the question when I'm telling you in the blog post, but since I'm going to be hitting so many cities in the next four weeks, I thought a Carmen Sandiego theme might be fun. Any objections? Good! I love you guys can't respond to say no....

On that note as well, according to my email inbox, more people read this than just my mother (who I think has actually stopped reading it) and so I apologize for the incoherancy. I've had exams the past week, so life hasn't exactly been ripe for updating a travel blog.

So other than exams, I had to deal with moving out of my home stay, saying goodbye to everyone on the program who left, which was sad, and packing for my roundd europe wonder-trip with Kira. Exams were ok, in case anyone cares. My host mom hugged when I left, which was decidely wierd, seeing as we didn't get along very, and I'm moving to another homestay next semester that's closer to school so I won't have a two hour commute. But she apparently liked me, so I guess I should just feel bad for leaving. I
The Banana Vending MachineThe Banana Vending MachineThe Banana Vending Machine

From the Mihailovsky Theater during the Nutcracker
don't really. I hope that doesn't make me an ass. I was one of the first people to leave after exams so it was kinda wierd saying goodbye to all the people who aren't going to be back in good ole Rossiya next semester. I did go to the Nutcracker on Sunday and a bunch of us went out for coffee and snacks on Thursday night kinda chill one more time.

I think I've finally gotten to the point where I like Russia, at least judging by the point that I wasn't ecstatic when the plane finally took off yesterday. My big beef with the Russian people is that they just don't seem to care about anything. They've been treated so horribly and been down so much by their government, that they've just gotten to a point where apathy is a way of life for everyone. Seeing dead people in the metro doesn't phase anyone. That fact the Putin will probably be in power for as long as he wants to just doesn't seem to bother anyone. They like Putin because he's good for Russia, on the most part, and they don't care about changing, even if it does mean for the better. He'll probably been in power for as long as he wants.

Anyway, I'm not in Russia anymore. It took me 15 hours, a 5 delay in Petersburg, a 3 hour delay in Oslo, but I got to Amsterdam at 1 last night. I'm leaving for Brussels sometime today, and then I'll be back here for Christmas. I'm really excited everything actually ended working out.

OK, I'm using one of the four computer for the entire hostel, so I should get going. Internet seems to be easy to find, so I'll try to keep ya'll posted everywhere I go.

Can't really use the usual sign off, so.
From Europe With Love.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0566s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb