The Netherlands


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Brabant » Eindhoven
August 6th 2008
Published: August 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Me and RossMe and RossMe and Ross

Helping load up the moving van
It has been a true joy these last few days, seeing my friend Ross and his new place in Eindhoven. Ross and his girlfriend Maruja showed me the utmost hospitality and kindness in letting me stay with them for almost a week. I got to tag along as Ross met his parents (all of whom were in Holland the same time I was!) and showed everyone around Amsterdam for two days. I followed Anne and Eric (Ross's stepmom and dad) around as we walked a good chunk of the city, saw the red light district, and took a canal tour that was one of the highlights of the whole trip. It was a cool city but a bit too much for me, and I was relieved when we went to Eindhoven, and to a calmer atmosphere. Ross and Maruja have a lovely apartment in Eindhoven right in the center of things, across from the train station and around the corner from a grocery store and movie theater. Luckily I was able to help them a bit while I stayed with moving in and setting up some new furniture. In the process I got to meet Maruja's parents Luis and Els, who
Bosch BallBosch BallBosch Ball

Apparently they are quite famous. It was famously delicious with a coffee and good company
were wonderful people (I see where Maruja gets her awesome caring personality from). They even took time out to take me to a lovely city north of Eindhoven spelled 'sHertogenbosch, but called Den Bosch and showed me around a bit. Luis is an amazing tour guide and was wealth of knowledge from historical facts to general Holland culture. Els was a blast too, and we had a great day walking around and sampling a local specialty called a bosch ball (delicious pastry ball covered with chocolate and filled with a rich cream). I was so thankful to meet such warm people who were so willing to take me in and make me feel comfortable. My last day in Holland we went down to Maastricht where Ross studied abroad. We met Anne and Eric again and rented bikes to cruise around Maastricht. I was enamored with the Dutch cities I saw and Maastricht was no exception. Ross was a great tour guide and showed us an old bunker/tunnel systems and some truly spectacular views. It was cool clear weather, perfect for riding, and aside from being good and worn out by the end of it, it made for a perfect day.
Strollin' Strollin' Strollin'

Me getting some Dutch knowledge dropped on me
Now I am in a station in Paris waiting to catch a night train to the France Spain border, where I will head to Barcelona in the morning to meet up with Shannon.

Actually I am in Barcelona now, sitting in the hostel after long travels. The night train I wanted was full, so I booked another one that was not a direct train. Obviously this turned out to not be as simple as the ticket clerk made it, and a bus ride, another train, a metro and another bus and I am finally at the hostel with Shannon sitting next to me. Were about to decide what to do for dinner, and maybe hit up a beach (it's pretty hot, who knew).


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Ross and Maruja's placeRoss and Maruja's place
Ross and Maruja's place

Their balcony was on the fourth floor


7th August 2008

WOO! HOO!
Great Blog, Grant! I'm so jealous of all the amazing things you are seeing, people you are meeting and memories you are making. Thanks for checking in with Lauren and I. It was great to hear your voice and know that you are doing well. Dip your toes in the Mediterranean ocean for me. Sunrise on the beach...sounds more than awesome! ciao for now...Lori
7th August 2008

Sounds amazing!
Grant! that is so awesome you met up with my parents! I was thinking that would be sweet if you and them and ross all were in the same place at the same time, and it was true!! i hope you had a blast with them and shared many a laugh. Love the blogs buddy, cant wait to read more. You are truly living the dream, live it up!

Tot: 0.418s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0637s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb